Thursday, December 22, 2011
Mijares added, OK
The Royals added Mijares for the pen yesterday. This on the heels of the Yuni deal. I don't agree with the Yuni deal but I like the Mijares deal. I've said over and over that you need to have at least 2 lefties in the pen. Collins isn't all that good, folks. He walks way too many and his wildness kills the team. I'm very happy the Royals decided to add Mijares. Now lets hope Yost uses him as the left handed specialist out of the pen. The manager manages to put guys in positions to fail. Luke comes to mind. If handled the right way the Royals pen looks to be very solid. The 40 man is full now. I'm not really expecting a big moves now. That doesn't mean DM won't trade Myers and Odorizzi for two more years of Frenchy. The man is so smart. He does stupid things and sells everyone that it is a process that we couldn't possibly understand. I wish I could operate with that impunity. How about no more moves? Develop some of the best farm system ever. That would be nice. Mijares doesn't make up for the Betancourt fiasco but it is a solid move. Happy Holidays Royals fans.
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
You have got to be kidding me!
Yuni back in a Royal uni? Wow, just when I thought I had seen the stupidest moves DM could make he goes and totally redeems himself. You have got to be kidding me. Yuni back to play SS, second, and third. Wow, he has never played anywhere other than SS since he was in AAA. I saw him play then and wasn't impressed. I'm totally taken aback by this move. I guess you can call it the process. Stop making stupid ass moves and telling us that we don't get it. We do get it. You impulse buy. You fall in love with certain players and you make mistakes worse by repeating them. How can you tell us that this is a good move going forward? The best part of the the Zack trade was getting rid of Betancourt. I'm totally amazed at this move. Granted, I would have preferred Keppinger, Yuni is better than Renteria or OC. He is also better than gonorrhea, but that doesn't mean he should be on the team. I don't know the terms or how much money but this move baffles me. He sucks at SS so lets try him somewhere else. The process, the process, the process. Seems as though the process isn't allowing for any progress. Fascinated and shocked by this move. Why can't DM have a crush on, say, Edwin Jackson or Martin Prado? Yuni in a Royal uni. It isn't easy being a Royals fan. The part that kills me is DM will call this a chess move. BS he is playing checkers. He is an impulsive kid, sometimes. I bet he gives great Holiday gifts. Impulse buyers usually do. Ho, ho, ho the sale of jerseys in KC is going to soar. The process my ass.
Sunday, December 18, 2011
Pineda, Price, please!
Just scanning the MLB world and saw that Price and Pineda could be available for the "right package". Really? Starting pitching being as difficult as it is to come by and the Mariners and Rays are even considering parting with these guys amazes me. It has been a long NFL day, I'll admit that, but wow. Pineda fascinates me. He is the real deal. Great young arm, and he is learning to harness it. I would have thought that King Felix would hit the block before Pineda. Price is a Ray. They won't pay anyone but Longoria so his name had to come up. How does this affect the Royals? It doesn't really. Will Myers is going to be the next great thing. Montgomery is going to win the Cy Young award 4 times. Odorizzi is going to be fantastic in the year..... The Royals and the Greatest Farm System Ever can't afford to part with players for established pitchers. The prospects are just sooooooooooooooo good. I'd be willing to trade a boatload for Michael Pineda. I'd trade a smaller boatload for Price. The Royals won't trade anything because they feel they are set in the rotation. It can't be that. They must feel that their prospects are too good to trade. I hope they at least ask the Mariners what they want. They may want the moon. Pineda is a number 1. They should ask for a bunch. Hosmer is a no trade guy. The rest of the organization is at least somewhat available for a number 1, right? Intriguing. I don't expect anything to happen. Latos brought a good haul to San Diego. Then the Padres, or some joker, have interest in Garza? That makes no logical sense. Maybe Price and Pineda are bad clubhouse guys. That is not what I've heard about them. Oh well fascinating that the best rookie pitcher in the American League is available for the "right package". Butler, Montgomery, Myers, and Lamb? If that package doesn't bring him then they can keep him. I'd be willing to do that deal. Odorizzi instead of Lamb is fine. That is the Pineda package. Soria could be put into the the package for Price. It wouldn't be the same guys. They would want Myers and Butler. Soria in that mix wouldn't work, I guess. He makes too much money for the Rays. Fun to be on the sideline. Sad to have to root for Luke against Pineda in Seattle. I wouldn't mind being on the other side of that from now on.
Saturday, December 17, 2011
Royals Hot Stove, 12/17
Very little to report in Royals land. The most interesting news I read was that the Red Sox inquired on Soria. Typical that they would. I'm sure they had a very low ball offer. I really dislike the Red Sox, and the NATION! Royals don't need to trade Soria just yet. I hope they don't trade anyone I like to the Red Sox. I think I can stomach the Yanks better than the Red Sox. Yanks don't pretend to be something they aren't. They buy championships. They admit it. The Red Sox do the exact same thing and cry when they aren't as good at it. Glad Soria is still a Royal. Separate news is that Latos was traded. The Padres did pretty well with the trade. That gives an indication of what it will take to get frontline starting pitching. That was a good package of players from the Reds. The Royals have the ability to match up in a trade for a pitcher, but who? I still think Gio Gonzalez is in play. Young, successful, under team control. I'll be interested to see if the Royals try or if they stand pat. I think the team will win 82 games or more this year. They don't have to make a move, I'm just bored here in the winter and need something to get excited about. The smoke around the Yu posting is interesting. Paying more than the Red Sox did for Dice K? 52 million at least. I remember when the Red Sox did the Dice K deal. It was about the same time that Meche signed his 55 million dollar deal with KC. The Toronto GM cried about the Meche offer. I hear it may be the Jays that posted the record amount. Different GM, of course, but the same old cry baby stuff. The Red Sox will be proud of the Blue Jays if they posted that. Royals coasting into the Holiday Season. I am too. Looking forward to the new year. I live in Vegas so I'm hoping to get to spring training. I always want to, but never can. My job doesn't really allow for such fun. Go Royals. Get contracts done for basically the whole team. Think about extending Alex. Weigh offers to teams for starters. Talk to the Braves about Jurrgens AND Prado, you need to get both.
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Royals Hot Stove 12/13 Laffey gone, Getz back!
The Royals go ahead and offer everyone a contract. Maier, Getz, Pena getting contracts is interesting. If I was Maier I'd decline the offer, I think. He won't get any time. He is a left handed hitting outfielder. He is pretty good defensively. He NEVER gets a chance to play. Interesting offer. Getz being back just makes me wonder what the heck the management is thinking. Not sure a guy that can only play second base should be given a spot on the 25 man roster. Maybe he is insurance in case Gio is unable to go. That makes me nervous, as I have stated many times. I hope Gio comes back and lights up the league, but having Getz available isn't the worse thing. I have a feeling he will be traded in spring training. That is the fun part of having a blog like this. The team now will probably be very different in late March. Pena needs to be back. The weak plays at the plate last year aside, he seems to have some value to the team. He is like Maier. He hits way better when he gets consistent AB's. Backing up Perez will be an important job and Pena has a chemistry with Chen so I like this move. The Laffey move made me mad at first. Come on, claim a guy just to release him? It didn't make much sense to me when I first read it. It doesn't make much more sense now that I have thought it over. You NEED to have 2 lefties in the pen. Collins will lose his arm by the 4th of July if he doesn't have a left handed amigo in the pen. Teaford will probably be that guy. I had thought Laffey was a valuable pick up. That is why I write a blog and others are the decision makers for the Royals. I'd imagine Laffey will wind up in Boston. Just a hunch. Not much brewing in Royals land. Saunders from the D Backs was non-tendered. He is an innings eater. He is too expensive, though. Gio has gotten alot of attention out there by the bay. Crow being tried out for the rotation. I say just drop that experiment and keep him in the pen. I see a bad outcome for Aaron in the rotation. Again, just a hunch. Royals have quite a bit of work to do contract wise. The team is all in arbitration it seems. Extending Alex? Who knows, but the Holidays are coming. I'd like to see the Royals be 500 and in contention. That's all I want for Christmas! That and an iPad, of course. How about................Prado?
Friday, December 9, 2011
Winter meetings over. What's next?
Royals traded Navarro to open up a roster spot. Rumor was they were making room for a Rule 5 guy. They draft a guy, and promptly sell him to the Yankees. Wal Mart making a sale to Gimbals, I guess. The sense of that move is lost on me. That is the fun part of being a fan I don't have to know anything just have an opinion. Well trading Navarro is fine IF you get a utility guy. Getz cannot play short. He tried last year and it was sad. The Royals have Falu and Zawadski. Zawadski was hot as hell in ST last year. That didn't translate, though. He struggled at Omaha. Falu is a younger guy. Maybe this is his big shot. I think he got time in the outfield, too. That would make him valuable if he can hit. The latest rumors I've seen have the Royals considering an older guy like Orlando Cabrera and Edgar Renteria for the role. Not sure that fits what you want to do. If you are going young bringing in an aging hanger on to "lead" your team doesn't make sense to me. Give a young a guy a shot. Let that roster spot become the launching spot for young guys on the come. I say no to Cabrera or Renteria and yes to Falu. The outfield will definitely have Dyson in the mix. Every interview I heard DM give at the meetings he was sure to bring his name up. Speed is valuable in the big outfield. Can the man hit in the big leagues? DM needs to get over his infatuation with the slight speed burners. It is baseball. You need to hit the ball to show how fast you can run. Everyone compared Gathright to Willie Wilson. Wow, really? Wilson was fast, yes he was. He wasn't track fast he was football fast. He wasn't skinny like Gathright and Dyson. He and Cain have similar body types. I guess having Dyson for late defense and base running is a nice weapon. The competition for roster spots outside of utility guy and back up outfielder is limited. That can be bad. You don't want anyone to have a sense of entitlement. Hosmer can go ahead and feel he is entitled, I guess. He is going to be very good. Giovatella just handed the second base bag doesn't seem like the best thing. Maybe having an old guy around would help by providing competition. I guess it isn't competition if the old guy is guaranteed a roster spot. I'm guessing they wouldn't sign if they weren't given the guarantee. Gio has me nervous, folks. Hey at least they can keep Getz and have a back up for one spot!
Talk of locking up Alex long term. I'd hold off on that, too. I really loved the season Alex put together last year. I'm just not sure if he grew into something or if it was an aberration. Wait until later. I guess I wouldn't kick and scream if they signed him. I am an optimist and the only way the Royals will be 500 and in contention is if Alex plays at the same level or a littler higher next year. I'd wait but paying him now makes sense. Maybe he can play short on the days Alcides gets a rest.
Royals seemed to have missed a chance with Cahill from the A's. I heard the Gio Gonzalez rumors and was cool with that. Cahill to the D Backs is a good move for them. The Royals should try to emulate the D Backs. Joel Saunders will be available now, I'd guess. He isn't Gio but he'd be cheaper.
OK, stove is idling. Heat it up, Royals.
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Winter Meetings, Royals style 2
According to MLBtraderumors.com the Royals are shopping Navarro to open a space for Rule 5. I hope that is just a rumor. You can't take a roster spot on a team that may be able to compete and fill it with Nate Adcock Jr. You need a player that contributes. OK, I get it, Soria was a Rule 5 pick and he has been fantastic. I would not sacrifice a spot on the 25 man roster for a Rule 5 guy. Let's hope it is just a rumor. Oh by the way you NEED to have a utility guy. Come on. No backup at SS or third or second, yeah good idea lets draft an arm and not have anyone to spell our infield. Come on Dayton make sensible moves. You need Navarro or another guy to back up multiple positions. You don't need the Rule 5 guy. I guess if the Rule 5 guy was a utility guy with an awesome glove that would kill a couple birds with one stone but I'd prefer taking a pass on the Rule 5.
No real heat on the stove but it has been a fun 4 days in Dallas. The Royals have been linked to Gio and Shields. I'd prefer Gio but it seems rather slow going in Moneyball Land. They will want a haul for him. Oh well I'm just glad the Royals were in. Who knows, maybe something will come out of the meetings. Hosmer and Butler at least have a reasonable platoon. The other guys will have to play 162. The Royals don't even have a backup catcher at this point. Oh that's right it is December 7, not April 7.
Come on Royals release or trade Blake Wood but lets keep Navarro for a spell.
PS. I'm still bumming over the Frank White firing. Hopefully someone will own the deed. I'm kind of doubting that will happen. I read a post from a venerable visitor to the Royals message board and he said he wasn't going to discuss the current management because it upset him so much. He actually knows Frank White. I'll take his positive approach. I can't help but discuss the management but I'll temper my temper. Not easy for a full blooded Irishman, but I'll try. Thanks Innings.
Sunday, December 4, 2011
Winter meetings, Royals style.
The winter meetings start in Dallas. Reyes is set to sign a contract for way too much for way too many years so the Marlins can pretend to try to compete for fans in the Miami market. They should have made that team move. I think Reyes is overpaid. I'm a Royals fan so Ozzie isn't a favorite. I expect an implosion of epic proportions coming from South Florida. There will be a honeymoon period but sooner or later it will be Ozzie or Hanley. I'm guessing that will come quick if Hanley is forced to move his lazy butt from short. Maybe he will be motivated, but I don't see it. Ok, now for the Royals. What will they do? They need to solidify the starters. I doubt they will do anything of consequence at the meetings. They may trade is the rumor. OK, trade who for who. I don't know. I'd like to think they are in on Gio. You have to drop a line to Oakland if you are DM. They will need to give up some of the greatest "farm" ever to get a good pitcher. I've mentioned many times that a great farm would include great pitchers. I don't want to be too critical of the current General Manager because who knows what he would do to me if he can dismiss a Royals icon for being too critical, he may put a hit out on me. Well, Dayton, you have done nothing, nothing, nothing to prove you can build a contending team. NOTHING. You drafted Hosmer and overpaid him. He is the real deal, good job. Maybe after he wins batting titles or, say, 8 Gold Gloves, you can kick his butt out of the organization. Phew, that vent felt good. Dayton is a pretentious jerk. The only way he should approach Frank White is to ask him if he wants coffee or a Pepsi Max. Telling him he is too critical of the sloppy, losing teams that have taken the field the past couple of years in KC takes balls. Balls that would have probably gotten through the leaky defense of recent times.
Now what must be done to improve the current Royals team? Trade for a frontline starter. Give up some prospects and get a number one or number 2 guy. If not beat the bushes for a utility guy. Just a heads up their Dayton, you need a guy that can play short. Escobar may need a day or two off. Oops there I go again. The critical nature of that statement is too much. Navarro my be the utility guy, and he is in house. Getz can pack. Maier can too.
Utility player and starting pitching. That seems to be the biggest needs. You also need to address the announcing team. If it is Monty you have lost your mind. He is awful. The teams he played for in KC weren't the teams that Frank played for. That team was at least the second best team in baseball for many years. You may not remember, Dayton, but the Royals were a perennial contender in the AL West when there was two divisions. They won the division going away and lost heartbreaking series to the Yankees. They were good baseball teams that played the game right. Not sure I see that with the teams you have put together. I'm sure the process you allude to will build a team that may compare on a small scale to that one, but firing one of the last guys from that team that actually contributed to the current team isn't the way to go about it. I don't know you, Dayton, but I'm guessing you must want to be in control. You can't say that the idea wasn't yours. If you do take your head out of David Glass' ass. Put a winning team on the field. If they don't win prepare to be criticized. Your skin better get thicker. You can't fire all the fans you pissed off. I hope you get a boycott for the All Star game. Maybe the fan fest fans will be remembered then. Every day low prices, every day sinking class. Pick it up GENERAL manager Moore. David can always find another willing to stick his head up his ass.
Friday, December 2, 2011
Frank fired.
This post doesn't really fit the tone of the rest of the blog but Frank White being fired needs to be addressed. Frank wasn't the best broadcaster, that I'll agree with. He was kind of stiff and he wasn't a natural. He was, however, insightful. He'd give lessons on how to play the second base plays that we are all better off for having heard. There has to be a better way to handle one of the greatest Royals. You don't fire him. You can work things out and allow for a more graceful exit, can't you? They wouldn't do that to Brett, would they? I consider Frank White as one of the greatest Royals and I'm upset that he got unceremoniously canned by Fox Sports. Come on. Show some class Royals and let Frank announce he is off to do something else. The Glass Legacy in KC has done nothing, nothing as far as producing winning baseball. Now you can a great baseball player that was part of more than a decade of great, winning baseball. I'll always be a huge Frank White, Willie Wilson, Amos Otis, Freddie Patek, UL Washington,Charlie Leibrandt,Bret Saberhagen, and others fan. I'm just not too proud to be a KC Royals fan today. Class may rhyme with Glass, but that is as close as that guy gets to the word.
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Broxton on board.
The Royals signed Broxton today. Here I was thinking the stove was cold! Like the Melky trade for Sanchez I like the pick up. My first thought was it reminded me of something the Rays would do. Broxton is a risk, I'll admit that. He had bone spurs, though, not Tommy John. A solid bullpen is a an absolute must for a Royals team that is going to contend. Hoechevar, Chen and Sanchez are not efficient. I'm hoping Eiland can help that but the pen is going to be relied on heavily. The move is fine. The money is fine. The part that I will wait and see on is what happens to Soria? I just assumed that Broxton would set up and Soria would close. If that is the case you have a very valuable commodity in Crow. Does he slip into the 7th inning? That might be perfect for Aaron. He was lights out until he realized he was in the big leagues and doing well. His selection to the All Star game ruined his season. Alex should have been an all star. That being said, Crow, Holland, Coleman, Herrera, and Collins and Teaford make for a talented bull pen, very talented. I didn't forget Blake Wood, I figured he wouldn't make the cut with the names you see there. I realize pushing Herrera to the bigs might be a mistake. I'd still take him over Wood. The guy is a gas can. He gives up a run every inning he pitches. It drives me crazy. Teaford may make the rotation but Laffey is a lefty that has worth. I contend that you MUST have 2 lefties in the pen. Maybe Teaford makes the rotation, maybe he doesn't. The bottom line is the addition of Broxton provides depth in the pen. Doesn't that remind you of something a well run team like Tampa would do? What would the hot stove season be without more rumors. DM is planning on trading Soria. He may get traded to Toronto for Rasmus. Maybe the Braves will be involved, too and Cain will be thrown in and we will get Rasmus and a pitcher. Very fun rumors. I, for one, hope the Royals keep them both and build a great pen. The competition will be intense. You still have Jeffress out there. I just don't see him amounting to anything, but his fastball can't be denied. Keep Soria and Broxton. Build a nails bull pen with the stable of arms you already have. Start Gordon, Cain, and Frency in the outfield. Rasmus can stay with his Daddy in Toronto. I like the move. I hope that big ol Hoss comes in and K's the first 15 guys he faces!
Go Royals. You surprised me with this move. Hey I can handle more. How about one more starter?
Wednesday, November 23, 2011
Urgent Update, Urgent Update!
Royals agree to sign Bruce Chen. Yeah baby!! I thought the Royals were very quiet. Bruce signing for 2 years and 9 million with bonuses that could bring it up to 11 or 12. I mentioned earlier that the Royals should sign Bruce for 2 years and 7.5. I said at the time that 7.5 probably wouldn't get it done. I was right but, more importantly, the Royals were right. Chen is a good guy. No, he isn't an ace. He truly isn't Zack Grienke. Remember Zack. He is the guy that gave up on the Royals. While Zack was putting his slider in his back pocket for safe keeping Chen was going out and battling in September. He led the team in wins when Grienke was here. He led them last year, too. No, he isn't an ace, but he isn't a cry baby quitter. He isn't one to demand a trade. I totally enjoyed Zack during his Cy young year. I only saw him pitch once live. He pitched a great game in Anaheim. He got beat 1-0. I was frustrated, so he must have been too. He really did quit and refused to throw his slider because he was basically saving himself for Milwaukee. I'm glad Zack is in Milwaukee. I'm really glad Bruce is back in KC. Good news. Now the Royals have Luke, Sanchez, Chen, Paulino, Duffy and others. Not the Phillies rotation but it can be good.
I used to end my posts by saying sign Chen, come on! Well, thanks I guess!!
Greatest Farm System ever part 2
Hot stove has cooled considerably, so here are some random Thanksgiving musings. The Royals have an open spot in the 40 man roster. That could be intriguing. I hope it is filled by a middle tier free agent. Edwin Jackson is better than another Rule 5 player. I don't think the Royals can afford to give up a roster spot to a Rule 5 guy. Adcock was average, or just below, last year. I don't think that is what this team needs. Shouldn't a team with the "Greatest Farm System Ever" GFSE, be able to find farm hands to take the spot. The Royals shouldn't have to look onto other farms. The GFSE shall fill all spots with quality players! I know you guys will hammer me because the farm system has produced Hosmer and ....................., OK, so? I'll ask the question I always ask when the GFSE is mentioned: Where is the pitching? Where oh where is the pitching. I love Hosmer. He will be a great player. He is the real deal. I'm just saying that the GFSE should have quality starting pitching at AAA. Major league ready arms that are capable of contributing. Duffy is ready and he will contribute. Who else do the Royals have? Mendoza was good at AAA. I'm all for giving him a chance for the rotation, but he isn't Jeremy Hellickson. I'm not jealous of other teams farms, I'm not saying the drafts were awful. I'm just saying the Royals don't have the Greatest Farm System Ever. Mendoza, SOS,Mazzaro, there is your AAA rotation. Mendoza has a chance to prove he belongs at in the bigs. I've seen enough of the other two.
I can't shake the feeling that second and third are going to be a problem, too. Giavotella scares me. Moose was better at the end. I'm hoping that Moose will continue from where he left off. If he does third is fine. If Giavotella doesn't kick it up numerous notches then there is a problem with the "set" lineup. I'm being too quick with Gio? Maybe, but it is a concern for me. He doesn't have the luxury of coming and hitting in the 240's with no power. Getz can do that. Getz will also steal way more bases than Gio will. I don't want Getz on the 25 man roster so I'm cheering for Gio, but I'm nervous.
Is Pena going to be the backup to Perez? Probably, and I can live with that. I like Pena for some reason. He looked awful protecting the plate a few time last year but I still prefer him to spending money on a different backup. DM has got to be stopped. We all remember the last free agent catcher he brought in for way too much money. I'm not talking about Treanor! I think I liked the Guillen signing better than out friend the unnamed catcher. I never really thought about it that way before. Guillen was a HUGE mistake, but Kendall was just as bad. That guy rubbed me wrong ever since he was with the A's. Oh well I guess I will name him. Jason Kendall. No way, DM, just stick with Pena. He doesn't bother me. I hope if you are true Royals fan you read that part about Guillen over Kendall and explain how wrong I am on the comments. Don't get nasty just start a conversation. The hot stove is too cold!
Thanksgiving, Royal fans. Eat well. Cherish family moments. Laugh loudly. Enjoy the quiet times. Overall try to have as much fun as possible knowing that there is an open spot on the 40 man roster!
Friday, November 18, 2011
"Greatest farm system ever". Nope
Royals have been busy enough this offseason. They added Verdugo to the 40 man bringing that total to 39. No real reason to think anything is in the works, I guess I'm just hoping. Oswalt and Buerhle have been rumored. Too old and expensive. I think Roy was a fine NL pitcher for a long time. Degenerative discs in his back is just too big a red flag. I disagree with others who think that signing him would be good. I'd be OK with Buerhle, though. AL Central veteran. The kind of pitcher that throws strikes, and strikes, and strikes. He would be a great influence on Duffy, in my opinion. I just don't see the change of venue from the windy city to KC. I'm hoping the Royals pursue Gio Gonzalez from Oakland. Another lefty, but he could be available if the Royals are willing to give up some of the great prospects.
How can the Royals have such a great system when there isn't one "prospect" that can be counted on to compete for a spot in the rotation? Man that BS about the "greatest farm system ever" is a crock. I know Lamb got hurt but wasn't Monty the biggest "prospect"? How does his AAA season project to the bigs? He got rocked. He wasn't good at that level, in fact he was poor. Duffy was up and contributing, true, but the greatest farm ever should have pitchers I would think. The Rays trip over major league ready guys and the greatest farm system ever can't send up one? Smoke being blown. Argue all you want about the Hosmers, Moose, Perez, Giavotella, Cain even. That is a great bunch of position players. They don't pitch the last time I checked. Trade some guys for pitchers or draft/develop some. The team will struggle without better pitching. The trade for Jurrgens AND Prado may have been the best answer. Gio didn't really impress me at second last year. He is hurt and he is young. He may be the next great thing but Prado led the league in hits a few years ago. I don't know if the Royals could have gotten both guys I'm just speculating, which is why there are so many blog/sites to explore on this topic. I think Giavotella is a key and I'm nervous about his ability to produce. I have the same concerns at third. Moose was way better in September but he really was bad early in the year. He cost the Royals quite a few games. You can't have your third baseman hitting in the 180's with no power and not have it cost you big time. The Royals cannot afford that same Moose to show up. They need the guy that was hitting with runners on and hitting for power to show up in March and hang out through October. What if he doesn't? What if Giavotella isn't Dustin Pedroia part 2? What if he is just a below average second baseman? Well, if either of those scenarios comes true the Royals are cooked. They don't have any "farm" hands to take over for them. I'm very optimistic that the Royals will be better, but it won't be easy. Please don't tell me the line up is set. They need to have a good utility plan. Navarro is fine, in my estimation. He can back up at SS which they didn't even bother with last year. The Giavotella injury may lead to Getz being offered arbitration. I hope not. I think the Royals need to move on from Getz. He can't play short. If he could back up at short, second and third, OK. You could keep him and it would be nice. I guess I'll hope for the best from Moose and Giavotella. All Royals fans have to hope for that.
Monty, Odorizzi, Arguellas, I guess they have hope on the "farm" Best ever? Nope!
Positive: Sanchez will have a good/great season next year. The whole staff will improve. They will take a page from the D Backs and drop the staff ERA. How did the Snakes do last year? That is my secret hope. The Royals will be the D Backs of next year.
Negative: The "set" lineup scares me. Two BIG holes at second and third may rip the season up before it gets a chance. It is November 18 so I choose positive!
Oh, by the way. Sign Bruce Chen!
Wednesday, November 16, 2011
November 16, Oswalt?
Royals are going to meet with Roy Oswalt in Milwaukee. Sounds like smoke and mirrors to me. I remember Roy mentioning retirement last year when his back acted up. I'm not sure the Royals ought to go after a guy who keeps talking about retirement. Chances are he will run into problems again. I'm older than Roy and my back hurts all the time! I'm just saying that a career NL pitcher with back issues isn't where the Royals need to be searching for starters. I tend to think that the interest is fleeting, I hope so at least. I still would bring Chen back. If you have read anything I've written I think Chen deserves a two year deal. He would be cheaper than Roy and you know what you will get with him. He has been in KC for two successful years. If you watched the Royals late in 10 or 11 seasons which pitcher had the most September success? Wasn't Zack Grienke. That guy gave up the slider, remember that? He quit on the Royals and saved himself to get shelled in the playoffs in Milwaukee. Chen was much more successful than any other Royals pitcher late in the season. Roy may not make it to September. He may retire, two or three times!!
Come on Royals sign Chen and let Roy go to the old pitchers home in peace.
Friday, November 11, 2011
Zambrano and Cubs still friends.
I read on www.mlbtraderumors.com that Zambrano and Epstein have been in touch and that Z wants to stay and the Cubs want him. I think that is just super. The Royals have no need for Zambrano, none. They have Luke, Paulino, Duffy, Sanchez, as 4 of the 5 rotation guys. Teaford, Mazzaro, SOS, Mendoza, as possibilities. That's 8 for 5 spots. The thing that I see is that 8 arms doesn't really mean they have 8 starters. I'm not sure what to make of SOS and Mazzaro. I've seen enough to know that each would be all star pitchers in AAAA. They get blasted in the bigs. The scuttlebutt is that the Royals won't spend for top of the rotation guys now that they have Sanchez. OK, they don't really have a top of the rotation either. It pains me to write 8 names for the rotation and leave my boy Chen off the list. I have said he deserves a chance. He even stated that he would like to return. I would give him 2 years 7.5. Guess what? That probably won't get it done. Down year in free agency and Bruce may bust the 10 mill mark for 2 years. The Royals need to offer arbitration, though.
8 arms and, maybe 3.5 MLB starters. The stove better not cool completely. The best news is that Z and Epstein are in a honeymoon phase. The Royals need pitching but they don't need Z.
No Z, but no fanfest. The Royals must have had to sell out quite a bit to get the All Star game. Oh well, hopefully the K will be filled on more than 1 night this year.
Go Royals. Sign Chen, come on! (To arbitration at least).
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Carlos Zambrano?
The Royals hot stove continues to be hot. Rumors are that the Royals are interested in Carlos Zambrano. I hope the interest is just an inquiry. He is a huge pain and he has a huge contract. Now way the Royals should try this. Zambrano is old, too expensive and a little crazy. Theo is the GM. He will look like a genius if he unloads Z. Epstein is NOT a genius and DM should run and hide from Zambrano. The Cubs have nothing the Royals want. They do have a Starling, but they wouldn't be open to trading him. The Royals need to keep searching for better pitching. DO NOT quibble with Zambrano!
Monday, November 7, 2011
Melky for Sanchez
Royals hot stove cooking with gas! Melky traded for Jonathan Sanchez. On the surface I like the deal. Sanchez had a down year last year. He was injured and his stats were off. The injury was an ankle, not an elbow or shoulder, so that is good. Sanchez is a strike out pitcher. A power lefty that has proven he is tough. I know it was the NL, but so what. He has had success in the major leagues and he has had success in the playoffs and World Series. I like the deal. Last year when Melky was signed I thought it was just a favor to him. He then put up solid, solid numbers. He was a great contributor and he seemed to enjoy his time in KC. 200 hits in a season is an accomplishment and Melky was awesome in his time here. That being acknowledged, he was expendable. I don't like that term but the Royals have Cain and they have Dyson. That gives them flexibility in the CF position. If Cain falls flat, then try Dyson. I don't think Cain will struggle. I think he will be fine. I expect he may duplicate the Melkman's numbers. That is wishful thinking I know. Come on, this is a blog called Royals 500 and in contention so you have to expect that wishful thinking will show up.
Sanchez immediately tightens up the rotation. Luke, Duffy, Sanchez, Paulino. The 5th spot is open. I'm nervous that my man Chen may be as expendable as Melky. Mendoza deserves a shot at the rotation. SOS and Mazzaro and Teaford are due a shot, too. Just adding Sanchez's name makes that group look better. I heard Sanchez's name come up last when DDJ was about to be traded. I liked that deal and I like this one. I like the left handed strike out guys. I am not in the prediction business but I think Sanchez will have a good season. He needs to throw more strikes and go deeper into games. That is what they hired Eiland for.
I keep saying sign Chen, Come on! He will be offered arbitration. The club has to offer. He is a plan B free agent so the worst the Royals can do is get Chen back or get the sandwich pick. Offer him arbitration. In the current market Chen may get two years at 5-6 mill per. I don't know if I'd pay that. Two at 8 mill I'd do. We shall see. I doubt the Royals make any more splashy moves but I do love this one.
What happens next? Sign Alex long term. Offer Bruce arb. Oh and sign Pujols, Fielder, and Reyes. That should be about it!!
Thanks Melky, you were way better than I thought you could be. I liked your style and your production spoke for itself. Good luck by the bay. I sure hope they don't put you in center in that yard! Good grief.
Sanchez immediately tightens up the rotation. Luke, Duffy, Sanchez, Paulino. The 5th spot is open. I'm nervous that my man Chen may be as expendable as Melky. Mendoza deserves a shot at the rotation. SOS and Mazzaro and Teaford are due a shot, too. Just adding Sanchez's name makes that group look better. I heard Sanchez's name come up last when DDJ was about to be traded. I liked that deal and I like this one. I like the left handed strike out guys. I am not in the prediction business but I think Sanchez will have a good season. He needs to throw more strikes and go deeper into games. That is what they hired Eiland for.
I keep saying sign Chen, Come on! He will be offered arbitration. The club has to offer. He is a plan B free agent so the worst the Royals can do is get Chen back or get the sandwich pick. Offer him arbitration. In the current market Chen may get two years at 5-6 mill per. I don't know if I'd pay that. Two at 8 mill I'd do. We shall see. I doubt the Royals make any more splashy moves but I do love this one.
What happens next? Sign Alex long term. Offer Bruce arb. Oh and sign Pujols, Fielder, and Reyes. That should be about it!!
Thanks Melky, you were way better than I thought you could be. I liked your style and your production spoke for itself. Good luck by the bay. I sure hope they don't put you in center in that yard! Good grief.
Saturday, November 5, 2011
November 5
Jurrgens and Prado? Royals rumored to be "in on Jurrgens". OK, that's fine. Injury prone, maybe, but a good pitcher. Lorenzo Cain and Dwyer have come up. This kind of trade is fine with me. The Royals are "stuck" with the Melk man in Center. Now Prado is also "available". Why not both these guys? Gio is hurt. Moose is an unknown and Prado has flexibility. Make the trade for BOTH. Now what you give up is a concern but this is the kind of trade that could make sense.
Jurrgens in the rotation is fine, BUT why not Chen......Come On!
Jurrgens in the rotation is fine, BUT why not Chen......Come On!
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Congratulations Alex!
Alex Gordon, Gold Glove outfielder. That has a very nice ring to it. He had a very nice year in LF. I don't watch all teams all the time but I watched Alex play a solid LF for the Royals. His plays going to the line were great. His range to his left, toward centerfield, has to get better. Melky just doesn't cover much ground. I'm glad Gordon got recognized. I hope he can replicate his season next year. It will be tough.
Off season is plugging along. Sign Chen, please. That is my request. What is your plan to improve?
Off season is plugging along. Sign Chen, please. That is my request. What is your plan to improve?
Monday, October 31, 2011
Halloween, Soria back.
The Royals exercised the option on Soria today. I fully expected that. I'm hoping to see the Royals pen be dominant next season. Soria, of course, must be part of any dominance. The hiring of Eiland should help. Eiland has stated that he wants his starter to be on the mound for God Bless America. That, too, will help the pen. Wood, Holland, Coleman, Crow, Collins, and crew have great stuff. These guys need to throw strikes. The addition of Laffey gives them two lefties to minimize exposure. Collins had a full season of appearances by the All Star Break because he was the only lefty out there. Longer starts and two lefties will be be very good for the pen.
I read Rany and his want for a pitcher parts 1-4. That is awesome research. I like Guthrie, but I like Chen more.
Happy Halloween. Good to have the closer back. Hopefully the pen will throw strikes and get him the ball for 45 saves in 2012. Since we are trick or treating how about a serious bid for Norris from the Astros?
I read Rany and his want for a pitcher parts 1-4. That is awesome research. I like Guthrie, but I like Chen more.
Happy Halloween. Good to have the closer back. Hopefully the pen will throw strikes and get him the ball for 45 saves in 2012. Since we are trick or treating how about a serious bid for Norris from the Astros?
Friday, October 28, 2011
Series over, free agency October 30
You have to give credit to the Cardinals. That was a very good World Series. Comeback after comeback. I found myself rooting for Texas, as I stated, but Game 6 made me just watch. I was fascinated and completely entertained. The game wasn't well played. It was a great game, though. I have to admit I started watching when Beltre and Cruz went back to back. From that point on the game was a classic. I am glad for baseball. I don't like the Cardinals but it was a great series. You think Mozeliak for Moore is out of the question? Yeah, me too.
Royals off season starts in earnest. DM is known for getting deals done quickly. I'll be waiting with bated breath. I'm optimistic about next year. I hope that something is done to solidify the starting pitching. I left Teaford out of the last post I had. The Royals need to piece a rotation out of Hoch, Duffy, Paulino, Mendoza,SOS, Mazzaro, Teaford, and others. We shall see. They need to address the starting rotation but how? Free agency is not all that alluring. The big money for older starters is a crap shoot. Trading for pitching is even riskier. DM hasn't had the best trade record. He seems to find scrap heap guys. I'm hoping, like I will always say, that they bring back Chen. Come on! Seriously he has had two very good years and he is a solid guy. His ERA around 4, and an improved lineup will be fine. He won 13 and 12 games the last two years. That is what I'd do. Sign Chen and give Mendoza a chance. The young players will need to improve and contribute.
I'm hoping that Royals do something to improve the starting rotation. Giving Mendoza a shot and signing Chen is my offer. I wouldn't want them to sign Edwin Jackson. I don't want them to trade for Wandy Rodriguez. I'd rather build with the greatest farm system ever. Oh that's right, the great farm doesn't produce pitchers. I almost forgot that part. I like Bruce Chen and I think the farm system is way overrated because there is no pitching.
Congrats Cardinals. Here we go Royals. The quest for 81 wins begins Sunday. What are you going to do?
Royals off season starts in earnest. DM is known for getting deals done quickly. I'll be waiting with bated breath. I'm optimistic about next year. I hope that something is done to solidify the starting pitching. I left Teaford out of the last post I had. The Royals need to piece a rotation out of Hoch, Duffy, Paulino, Mendoza,SOS, Mazzaro, Teaford, and others. We shall see. They need to address the starting rotation but how? Free agency is not all that alluring. The big money for older starters is a crap shoot. Trading for pitching is even riskier. DM hasn't had the best trade record. He seems to find scrap heap guys. I'm hoping, like I will always say, that they bring back Chen. Come on! Seriously he has had two very good years and he is a solid guy. His ERA around 4, and an improved lineup will be fine. He won 13 and 12 games the last two years. That is what I'd do. Sign Chen and give Mendoza a chance. The young players will need to improve and contribute.
I'm hoping that Royals do something to improve the starting rotation. Giving Mendoza a shot and signing Chen is my offer. I wouldn't want them to sign Edwin Jackson. I don't want them to trade for Wandy Rodriguez. I'd rather build with the greatest farm system ever. Oh that's right, the great farm doesn't produce pitchers. I almost forgot that part. I like Bruce Chen and I think the farm system is way overrated because there is no pitching.
Congrats Cardinals. Here we go Royals. The quest for 81 wins begins Sunday. What are you going to do?
Thursday, October 20, 2011
It's the 2012 offseason.
The World Series just started. The Cardinals won game 1. OK, that's out of the way. This blog is about the Royals and how they are going to be 500 or better and in contention in the AL Central in 2012. As of today, 10/20/11, the team isn't capable of achieving 81 wins. They are coming off a 71 win season so they must improve for this blog to be relevant.
What needs to be done? Many things. First and foremost the Royals must improve their starting pitching. They have addressed this already by showing McClure the door. I don't think the blame falls all on him, but a change was needed. They have replaced the organization pitching coordinator and that falls in step with the choice for pitching coach. This a a very important hire. Yost has already stated that he wants a guy that had average stuff and a long career to be the guy. Really? I watched Charles Nagy and Tim Belcher have success as coaches but it might be because they are good coaches not because they of the stuff they had as pitchers. I hope they hire a guy that can coach. McClure pretty much fit the average stuff category, didn't he? Lets get a new program. I watch other teams have success with former Royals pitchers. Ever wonder why the guys all of a sudden find it when they leave KC? They throw strikes and trust their stuff. Take a long look at the Rays staff last year. Quite a few former Royals pitching well. Hiring a good pitching coach is the first step toward contention for the 2012 Royals. Look at the D Backs and the difference lowering the staff ERA made. There is no reason to think the Royals can't improve by 10-15 games with better pitching.
OK, the pitchers aren't any good. Hoch, Duffy, Paulino, Mendoza, etc. Not the greatest start for a rotation, BUT they all have very good stuff if they can get control. The easy route to get better would be to get better pitchers. I agree, but the free agents aren't all that much better than the in house guys. My idea would be to resign Chen. I love what Bruce has brought to the team the past two years. He has been the defacto ace. He is as good as any free agents and he won't cost as much. Adding Bruce to the 4 guys listed makes a "pretty good" rotation. That being said the big rumor is that the Royals are willing to trade for frontline starting pitching. Really? Trade who for who? The vaunted farm system should have pitchers in the pipeline, but it doesn't. All that talk about how great the farm is, or was, is crap. Monty got beat around big time at AAA. That doesn't bode well. He was one of the great crop of lefties. Lamb got injured. Duffy is up and progressing but Arguelles is too low in the system to be considered help for 2012. Give me pitching or shut up about the farm. Odorizzi may be good. AA to the big club? Probably by June or at least by September Jake will be up. For my part I say develop what you have. Sign Chen! Whatever the Royals do I hope they steer clear of the Darvish sweepstakes. Not a big fan of overpaying for Japanese pitchers.
The line up is "set". I'm not sure about that. Gio at second and Moose at third is unsettling. Moose turned it around late in the season and has given me a little more hope. Gio disappointed me. He needs to hit. He can't play his caliber of D and hit like Getz. He needs to hit upper 280's with power. He does that then yes, the infield is set. The outfield was great last year. Melky had a super year. Frenchy was really good. Not good enough to get the two year extension. I think that was dumb. Gordon was out of his mind. I could see the Royals going with those three again and hoping to get the same, or similar results. That leaves Cain in the wind. Melky is under contract and he had a great year last year. I'm sorry but his D in center isn't the best. It isn't even good. What to do with Cain? I hope they keep the 4 and have a real rotation. It will keep them fresh. I don't want them to trade Cain. I don't think they will get much for Melky. We will have to see. Two extra years for Frenchy was dumb! I know I already said that. I will say it quite a few times.
Go Royals. Hopefully the plans are being laid for a winning off season. I'm rooting for Texas in the World Series. I'm sure most Royals fans are.
What needs to be done? Many things. First and foremost the Royals must improve their starting pitching. They have addressed this already by showing McClure the door. I don't think the blame falls all on him, but a change was needed. They have replaced the organization pitching coordinator and that falls in step with the choice for pitching coach. This a a very important hire. Yost has already stated that he wants a guy that had average stuff and a long career to be the guy. Really? I watched Charles Nagy and Tim Belcher have success as coaches but it might be because they are good coaches not because they of the stuff they had as pitchers. I hope they hire a guy that can coach. McClure pretty much fit the average stuff category, didn't he? Lets get a new program. I watch other teams have success with former Royals pitchers. Ever wonder why the guys all of a sudden find it when they leave KC? They throw strikes and trust their stuff. Take a long look at the Rays staff last year. Quite a few former Royals pitching well. Hiring a good pitching coach is the first step toward contention for the 2012 Royals. Look at the D Backs and the difference lowering the staff ERA made. There is no reason to think the Royals can't improve by 10-15 games with better pitching.
OK, the pitchers aren't any good. Hoch, Duffy, Paulino, Mendoza, etc. Not the greatest start for a rotation, BUT they all have very good stuff if they can get control. The easy route to get better would be to get better pitchers. I agree, but the free agents aren't all that much better than the in house guys. My idea would be to resign Chen. I love what Bruce has brought to the team the past two years. He has been the defacto ace. He is as good as any free agents and he won't cost as much. Adding Bruce to the 4 guys listed makes a "pretty good" rotation. That being said the big rumor is that the Royals are willing to trade for frontline starting pitching. Really? Trade who for who? The vaunted farm system should have pitchers in the pipeline, but it doesn't. All that talk about how great the farm is, or was, is crap. Monty got beat around big time at AAA. That doesn't bode well. He was one of the great crop of lefties. Lamb got injured. Duffy is up and progressing but Arguelles is too low in the system to be considered help for 2012. Give me pitching or shut up about the farm. Odorizzi may be good. AA to the big club? Probably by June or at least by September Jake will be up. For my part I say develop what you have. Sign Chen! Whatever the Royals do I hope they steer clear of the Darvish sweepstakes. Not a big fan of overpaying for Japanese pitchers.
The line up is "set". I'm not sure about that. Gio at second and Moose at third is unsettling. Moose turned it around late in the season and has given me a little more hope. Gio disappointed me. He needs to hit. He can't play his caliber of D and hit like Getz. He needs to hit upper 280's with power. He does that then yes, the infield is set. The outfield was great last year. Melky had a super year. Frenchy was really good. Not good enough to get the two year extension. I think that was dumb. Gordon was out of his mind. I could see the Royals going with those three again and hoping to get the same, or similar results. That leaves Cain in the wind. Melky is under contract and he had a great year last year. I'm sorry but his D in center isn't the best. It isn't even good. What to do with Cain? I hope they keep the 4 and have a real rotation. It will keep them fresh. I don't want them to trade Cain. I don't think they will get much for Melky. We will have to see. Two extra years for Frenchy was dumb! I know I already said that. I will say it quite a few times.
Go Royals. Hopefully the plans are being laid for a winning off season. I'm rooting for Texas in the World Series. I'm sure most Royals fans are.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)