Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Greatest Farm System ever part 2

Hot stove has cooled considerably, so here are some random Thanksgiving musings. The Royals have an open spot in the 40 man roster. That could be intriguing. I hope it is filled by a middle tier free agent. Edwin Jackson is better than another Rule 5 player. I don't think the Royals can afford to give up a roster spot to a Rule 5 guy. Adcock was average, or just below, last year. I don't think that is what this team needs. Shouldn't a team with the "Greatest Farm System Ever" GFSE, be able to find farm hands to take the spot. The Royals shouldn't have to look onto other farms. The GFSE shall fill all spots with quality players! I know you guys will hammer me because the farm system has produced Hosmer and ....................., OK, so? I'll ask the question I always ask when the GFSE is mentioned: Where is the pitching? Where oh where is the pitching. I love Hosmer. He will be a great player. He is the real deal. I'm just saying that the GFSE should have quality starting pitching at AAA. Major league ready arms that are capable of contributing. Duffy is ready and he will contribute. Who else do the Royals have? Mendoza was good at AAA. I'm all for giving him a chance for the rotation, but he isn't Jeremy Hellickson. I'm not jealous of other teams farms, I'm not saying the drafts were awful. I'm just saying the Royals don't have the Greatest Farm System Ever. Mendoza, SOS,Mazzaro, there is your AAA rotation. Mendoza has a chance to prove he belongs at in the bigs. I've seen enough of the other two. I can't shake the feeling that second and third are going to be a problem, too. Giavotella scares me. Moose was better at the end. I'm hoping that Moose will continue from where he left off. If he does third is fine. If Giavotella doesn't kick it up numerous notches then there is a problem with the "set" lineup. I'm being too quick with Gio? Maybe, but it is a concern for me. He doesn't have the luxury of coming and hitting in the 240's with no power. Getz can do that. Getz will also steal way more bases than Gio will. I don't want Getz on the 25 man roster so I'm cheering for Gio, but I'm nervous. Is Pena going to be the backup to Perez? Probably, and I can live with that. I like Pena for some reason. He looked awful protecting the plate a few time last year but I still prefer him to spending money on a different backup. DM has got to be stopped. We all remember the last free agent catcher he brought in for way too much money. I'm not talking about Treanor! I think I liked the Guillen signing better than out friend the unnamed catcher. I never really thought about it that way before. Guillen was a HUGE mistake, but Kendall was just as bad. That guy rubbed me wrong ever since he was with the A's. Oh well I guess I will name him. Jason Kendall. No way, DM, just stick with Pena. He doesn't bother me. I hope if you are true Royals fan you read that part about Guillen over Kendall and explain how wrong I am on the comments. Don't get nasty just start a conversation. The hot stove is too cold! Thanksgiving, Royal fans. Eat well. Cherish family moments. Laugh loudly. Enjoy the quiet times. Overall try to have as much fun as possible knowing that there is an open spot on the 40 man roster!

No comments:

Post a Comment