The World Series just started. The Cardinals won game 1. OK, that's out of the way. This blog is about the Royals and how they are going to be 500 or better and in contention in the AL Central in 2012. As of today, 10/20/11, the team isn't capable of achieving 81 wins. They are coming off a 71 win season so they must improve for this blog to be relevant.
What needs to be done? Many things. First and foremost the Royals must improve their starting pitching. They have addressed this already by showing McClure the door. I don't think the blame falls all on him, but a change was needed. They have replaced the organization pitching coordinator and that falls in step with the choice for pitching coach. This a a very important hire. Yost has already stated that he wants a guy that had average stuff and a long career to be the guy. Really? I watched Charles Nagy and Tim Belcher have success as coaches but it might be because they are good coaches not because they of the stuff they had as pitchers. I hope they hire a guy that can coach. McClure pretty much fit the average stuff category, didn't he? Lets get a new program. I watch other teams have success with former Royals pitchers. Ever wonder why the guys all of a sudden find it when they leave KC? They throw strikes and trust their stuff. Take a long look at the Rays staff last year. Quite a few former Royals pitching well. Hiring a good pitching coach is the first step toward contention for the 2012 Royals. Look at the D Backs and the difference lowering the staff ERA made. There is no reason to think the Royals can't improve by 10-15 games with better pitching.
OK, the pitchers aren't any good. Hoch, Duffy, Paulino, Mendoza, etc. Not the greatest start for a rotation, BUT they all have very good stuff if they can get control. The easy route to get better would be to get better pitchers. I agree, but the free agents aren't all that much better than the in house guys. My idea would be to resign Chen. I love what Bruce has brought to the team the past two years. He has been the defacto ace. He is as good as any free agents and he won't cost as much. Adding Bruce to the 4 guys listed makes a "pretty good" rotation. That being said the big rumor is that the Royals are willing to trade for frontline starting pitching. Really? Trade who for who? The vaunted farm system should have pitchers in the pipeline, but it doesn't. All that talk about how great the farm is, or was, is crap. Monty got beat around big time at AAA. That doesn't bode well. He was one of the great crop of lefties. Lamb got injured. Duffy is up and progressing but Arguelles is too low in the system to be considered help for 2012. Give me pitching or shut up about the farm. Odorizzi may be good. AA to the big club? Probably by June or at least by September Jake will be up. For my part I say develop what you have. Sign Chen! Whatever the Royals do I hope they steer clear of the Darvish sweepstakes. Not a big fan of overpaying for Japanese pitchers.
The line up is "set". I'm not sure about that. Gio at second and Moose at third is unsettling. Moose turned it around late in the season and has given me a little more hope. Gio disappointed me. He needs to hit. He can't play his caliber of D and hit like Getz. He needs to hit upper 280's with power. He does that then yes, the infield is set. The outfield was great last year. Melky had a super year. Frenchy was really good. Not good enough to get the two year extension. I think that was dumb. Gordon was out of his mind. I could see the Royals going with those three again and hoping to get the same, or similar results. That leaves Cain in the wind. Melky is under contract and he had a great year last year. I'm sorry but his D in center isn't the best. It isn't even good. What to do with Cain? I hope they keep the 4 and have a real rotation. It will keep them fresh. I don't want them to trade Cain. I don't think they will get much for Melky. We will have to see. Two extra years for Frenchy was dumb! I know I already said that. I will say it quite a few times.
Go Royals. Hopefully the plans are being laid for a winning off season. I'm rooting for Texas in the World Series. I'm sure most Royals fans are.
No comments:
Post a Comment