Friday, December 9, 2011
Winter meetings over. What's next?
Royals traded Navarro to open up a roster spot. Rumor was they were making room for a Rule 5 guy. They draft a guy, and promptly sell him to the Yankees. Wal Mart making a sale to Gimbals, I guess. The sense of that move is lost on me. That is the fun part of being a fan I don't have to know anything just have an opinion. Well trading Navarro is fine IF you get a utility guy. Getz cannot play short. He tried last year and it was sad. The Royals have Falu and Zawadski. Zawadski was hot as hell in ST last year. That didn't translate, though. He struggled at Omaha. Falu is a younger guy. Maybe this is his big shot. I think he got time in the outfield, too. That would make him valuable if he can hit. The latest rumors I've seen have the Royals considering an older guy like Orlando Cabrera and Edgar Renteria for the role. Not sure that fits what you want to do. If you are going young bringing in an aging hanger on to "lead" your team doesn't make sense to me. Give a young a guy a shot. Let that roster spot become the launching spot for young guys on the come. I say no to Cabrera or Renteria and yes to Falu. The outfield will definitely have Dyson in the mix. Every interview I heard DM give at the meetings he was sure to bring his name up. Speed is valuable in the big outfield. Can the man hit in the big leagues? DM needs to get over his infatuation with the slight speed burners. It is baseball. You need to hit the ball to show how fast you can run. Everyone compared Gathright to Willie Wilson. Wow, really? Wilson was fast, yes he was. He wasn't track fast he was football fast. He wasn't skinny like Gathright and Dyson. He and Cain have similar body types. I guess having Dyson for late defense and base running is a nice weapon. The competition for roster spots outside of utility guy and back up outfielder is limited. That can be bad. You don't want anyone to have a sense of entitlement. Hosmer can go ahead and feel he is entitled, I guess. He is going to be very good. Giovatella just handed the second base bag doesn't seem like the best thing. Maybe having an old guy around would help by providing competition. I guess it isn't competition if the old guy is guaranteed a roster spot. I'm guessing they wouldn't sign if they weren't given the guarantee. Gio has me nervous, folks. Hey at least they can keep Getz and have a back up for one spot!
Talk of locking up Alex long term. I'd hold off on that, too. I really loved the season Alex put together last year. I'm just not sure if he grew into something or if it was an aberration. Wait until later. I guess I wouldn't kick and scream if they signed him. I am an optimist and the only way the Royals will be 500 and in contention is if Alex plays at the same level or a littler higher next year. I'd wait but paying him now makes sense. Maybe he can play short on the days Alcides gets a rest.
Royals seemed to have missed a chance with Cahill from the A's. I heard the Gio Gonzalez rumors and was cool with that. Cahill to the D Backs is a good move for them. The Royals should try to emulate the D Backs. Joel Saunders will be available now, I'd guess. He isn't Gio but he'd be cheaper.
OK, stove is idling. Heat it up, Royals.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment