Friday, November 18, 2011

"Greatest farm system ever". Nope

Royals have been busy enough this offseason. They added Verdugo to the 40 man bringing that total to 39. No real reason to think anything is in the works, I guess I'm just hoping. Oswalt and Buerhle have been rumored. Too old and expensive. I think Roy was a fine NL pitcher for a long time. Degenerative discs in his back is just too big a red flag. I disagree with others who think that signing him would be good. I'd be OK with Buerhle, though. AL Central veteran. The kind of pitcher that throws strikes, and strikes, and strikes. He would be a great influence on Duffy, in my opinion. I just don't see the change of venue from the windy city to KC. I'm hoping the Royals pursue Gio Gonzalez from Oakland. Another lefty, but he could be available if the Royals are willing to give up some of the great prospects. How can the Royals have such a great system when there isn't one "prospect" that can be counted on to compete for a spot in the rotation? Man that BS about the "greatest farm system ever" is a crock. I know Lamb got hurt but wasn't Monty the biggest "prospect"? How does his AAA season project to the bigs? He got rocked. He wasn't good at that level, in fact he was poor. Duffy was up and contributing, true, but the greatest farm ever should have pitchers I would think. The Rays trip over major league ready guys and the greatest farm system ever can't send up one? Smoke being blown. Argue all you want about the Hosmers, Moose, Perez, Giavotella, Cain even. That is a great bunch of position players. They don't pitch the last time I checked. Trade some guys for pitchers or draft/develop some. The team will struggle without better pitching. The trade for Jurrgens AND Prado may have been the best answer. Gio didn't really impress me at second last year. He is hurt and he is young. He may be the next great thing but Prado led the league in hits a few years ago. I don't know if the Royals could have gotten both guys I'm just speculating, which is why there are so many blog/sites to explore on this topic. I think Giavotella is a key and I'm nervous about his ability to produce. I have the same concerns at third. Moose was way better in September but he really was bad early in the year. He cost the Royals quite a few games. You can't have your third baseman hitting in the 180's with no power and not have it cost you big time. The Royals cannot afford that same Moose to show up. They need the guy that was hitting with runners on and hitting for power to show up in March and hang out through October. What if he doesn't? What if Giavotella isn't Dustin Pedroia part 2? What if he is just a below average second baseman? Well, if either of those scenarios comes true the Royals are cooked. They don't have any "farm" hands to take over for them. I'm very optimistic that the Royals will be better, but it won't be easy. Please don't tell me the line up is set. They need to have a good utility plan. Navarro is fine, in my estimation. He can back up at SS which they didn't even bother with last year. The Giavotella injury may lead to Getz being offered arbitration. I hope not. I think the Royals need to move on from Getz. He can't play short. If he could back up at short, second and third, OK. You could keep him and it would be nice. I guess I'll hope for the best from Moose and Giavotella. All Royals fans have to hope for that. Monty, Odorizzi, Arguellas, I guess they have hope on the "farm" Best ever? Nope! Positive: Sanchez will have a good/great season next year. The whole staff will improve. They will take a page from the D Backs and drop the staff ERA. How did the Snakes do last year? That is my secret hope. The Royals will be the D Backs of next year. Negative: The "set" lineup scares me. Two BIG holes at second and third may rip the season up before it gets a chance. It is November 18 so I choose positive! Oh, by the way. Sign Bruce Chen!

No comments:

Post a Comment