Thursday, December 22, 2011
Mijares added, OK
The Royals added Mijares for the pen yesterday. This on the heels of the Yuni deal. I don't agree with the Yuni deal but I like the Mijares deal. I've said over and over that you need to have at least 2 lefties in the pen. Collins isn't all that good, folks. He walks way too many and his wildness kills the team. I'm very happy the Royals decided to add Mijares. Now lets hope Yost uses him as the left handed specialist out of the pen. The manager manages to put guys in positions to fail. Luke comes to mind. If handled the right way the Royals pen looks to be very solid. The 40 man is full now. I'm not really expecting a big moves now. That doesn't mean DM won't trade Myers and Odorizzi for two more years of Frenchy. The man is so smart. He does stupid things and sells everyone that it is a process that we couldn't possibly understand. I wish I could operate with that impunity. How about no more moves? Develop some of the best farm system ever. That would be nice. Mijares doesn't make up for the Betancourt fiasco but it is a solid move. Happy Holidays Royals fans.
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
You have got to be kidding me!
Yuni back in a Royal uni? Wow, just when I thought I had seen the stupidest moves DM could make he goes and totally redeems himself. You have got to be kidding me. Yuni back to play SS, second, and third. Wow, he has never played anywhere other than SS since he was in AAA. I saw him play then and wasn't impressed. I'm totally taken aback by this move. I guess you can call it the process. Stop making stupid ass moves and telling us that we don't get it. We do get it. You impulse buy. You fall in love with certain players and you make mistakes worse by repeating them. How can you tell us that this is a good move going forward? The best part of the the Zack trade was getting rid of Betancourt. I'm totally amazed at this move. Granted, I would have preferred Keppinger, Yuni is better than Renteria or OC. He is also better than gonorrhea, but that doesn't mean he should be on the team. I don't know the terms or how much money but this move baffles me. He sucks at SS so lets try him somewhere else. The process, the process, the process. Seems as though the process isn't allowing for any progress. Fascinated and shocked by this move. Why can't DM have a crush on, say, Edwin Jackson or Martin Prado? Yuni in a Royal uni. It isn't easy being a Royals fan. The part that kills me is DM will call this a chess move. BS he is playing checkers. He is an impulsive kid, sometimes. I bet he gives great Holiday gifts. Impulse buyers usually do. Ho, ho, ho the sale of jerseys in KC is going to soar. The process my ass.
Sunday, December 18, 2011
Pineda, Price, please!
Just scanning the MLB world and saw that Price and Pineda could be available for the "right package". Really? Starting pitching being as difficult as it is to come by and the Mariners and Rays are even considering parting with these guys amazes me. It has been a long NFL day, I'll admit that, but wow. Pineda fascinates me. He is the real deal. Great young arm, and he is learning to harness it. I would have thought that King Felix would hit the block before Pineda. Price is a Ray. They won't pay anyone but Longoria so his name had to come up. How does this affect the Royals? It doesn't really. Will Myers is going to be the next great thing. Montgomery is going to win the Cy Young award 4 times. Odorizzi is going to be fantastic in the year..... The Royals and the Greatest Farm System Ever can't afford to part with players for established pitchers. The prospects are just sooooooooooooooo good. I'd be willing to trade a boatload for Michael Pineda. I'd trade a smaller boatload for Price. The Royals won't trade anything because they feel they are set in the rotation. It can't be that. They must feel that their prospects are too good to trade. I hope they at least ask the Mariners what they want. They may want the moon. Pineda is a number 1. They should ask for a bunch. Hosmer is a no trade guy. The rest of the organization is at least somewhat available for a number 1, right? Intriguing. I don't expect anything to happen. Latos brought a good haul to San Diego. Then the Padres, or some joker, have interest in Garza? That makes no logical sense. Maybe Price and Pineda are bad clubhouse guys. That is not what I've heard about them. Oh well fascinating that the best rookie pitcher in the American League is available for the "right package". Butler, Montgomery, Myers, and Lamb? If that package doesn't bring him then they can keep him. I'd be willing to do that deal. Odorizzi instead of Lamb is fine. That is the Pineda package. Soria could be put into the the package for Price. It wouldn't be the same guys. They would want Myers and Butler. Soria in that mix wouldn't work, I guess. He makes too much money for the Rays. Fun to be on the sideline. Sad to have to root for Luke against Pineda in Seattle. I wouldn't mind being on the other side of that from now on.
Saturday, December 17, 2011
Royals Hot Stove, 12/17
Very little to report in Royals land. The most interesting news I read was that the Red Sox inquired on Soria. Typical that they would. I'm sure they had a very low ball offer. I really dislike the Red Sox, and the NATION! Royals don't need to trade Soria just yet. I hope they don't trade anyone I like to the Red Sox. I think I can stomach the Yanks better than the Red Sox. Yanks don't pretend to be something they aren't. They buy championships. They admit it. The Red Sox do the exact same thing and cry when they aren't as good at it. Glad Soria is still a Royal. Separate news is that Latos was traded. The Padres did pretty well with the trade. That gives an indication of what it will take to get frontline starting pitching. That was a good package of players from the Reds. The Royals have the ability to match up in a trade for a pitcher, but who? I still think Gio Gonzalez is in play. Young, successful, under team control. I'll be interested to see if the Royals try or if they stand pat. I think the team will win 82 games or more this year. They don't have to make a move, I'm just bored here in the winter and need something to get excited about. The smoke around the Yu posting is interesting. Paying more than the Red Sox did for Dice K? 52 million at least. I remember when the Red Sox did the Dice K deal. It was about the same time that Meche signed his 55 million dollar deal with KC. The Toronto GM cried about the Meche offer. I hear it may be the Jays that posted the record amount. Different GM, of course, but the same old cry baby stuff. The Red Sox will be proud of the Blue Jays if they posted that. Royals coasting into the Holiday Season. I am too. Looking forward to the new year. I live in Vegas so I'm hoping to get to spring training. I always want to, but never can. My job doesn't really allow for such fun. Go Royals. Get contracts done for basically the whole team. Think about extending Alex. Weigh offers to teams for starters. Talk to the Braves about Jurrgens AND Prado, you need to get both.
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Royals Hot Stove 12/13 Laffey gone, Getz back!
The Royals go ahead and offer everyone a contract. Maier, Getz, Pena getting contracts is interesting. If I was Maier I'd decline the offer, I think. He won't get any time. He is a left handed hitting outfielder. He is pretty good defensively. He NEVER gets a chance to play. Interesting offer. Getz being back just makes me wonder what the heck the management is thinking. Not sure a guy that can only play second base should be given a spot on the 25 man roster. Maybe he is insurance in case Gio is unable to go. That makes me nervous, as I have stated many times. I hope Gio comes back and lights up the league, but having Getz available isn't the worse thing. I have a feeling he will be traded in spring training. That is the fun part of having a blog like this. The team now will probably be very different in late March. Pena needs to be back. The weak plays at the plate last year aside, he seems to have some value to the team. He is like Maier. He hits way better when he gets consistent AB's. Backing up Perez will be an important job and Pena has a chemistry with Chen so I like this move. The Laffey move made me mad at first. Come on, claim a guy just to release him? It didn't make much sense to me when I first read it. It doesn't make much more sense now that I have thought it over. You NEED to have 2 lefties in the pen. Collins will lose his arm by the 4th of July if he doesn't have a left handed amigo in the pen. Teaford will probably be that guy. I had thought Laffey was a valuable pick up. That is why I write a blog and others are the decision makers for the Royals. I'd imagine Laffey will wind up in Boston. Just a hunch. Not much brewing in Royals land. Saunders from the D Backs was non-tendered. He is an innings eater. He is too expensive, though. Gio has gotten alot of attention out there by the bay. Crow being tried out for the rotation. I say just drop that experiment and keep him in the pen. I see a bad outcome for Aaron in the rotation. Again, just a hunch. Royals have quite a bit of work to do contract wise. The team is all in arbitration it seems. Extending Alex? Who knows, but the Holidays are coming. I'd like to see the Royals be 500 and in contention. That's all I want for Christmas! That and an iPad, of course. How about................Prado?
Friday, December 9, 2011
Winter meetings over. What's next?
Royals traded Navarro to open up a roster spot. Rumor was they were making room for a Rule 5 guy. They draft a guy, and promptly sell him to the Yankees. Wal Mart making a sale to Gimbals, I guess. The sense of that move is lost on me. That is the fun part of being a fan I don't have to know anything just have an opinion. Well trading Navarro is fine IF you get a utility guy. Getz cannot play short. He tried last year and it was sad. The Royals have Falu and Zawadski. Zawadski was hot as hell in ST last year. That didn't translate, though. He struggled at Omaha. Falu is a younger guy. Maybe this is his big shot. I think he got time in the outfield, too. That would make him valuable if he can hit. The latest rumors I've seen have the Royals considering an older guy like Orlando Cabrera and Edgar Renteria for the role. Not sure that fits what you want to do. If you are going young bringing in an aging hanger on to "lead" your team doesn't make sense to me. Give a young a guy a shot. Let that roster spot become the launching spot for young guys on the come. I say no to Cabrera or Renteria and yes to Falu. The outfield will definitely have Dyson in the mix. Every interview I heard DM give at the meetings he was sure to bring his name up. Speed is valuable in the big outfield. Can the man hit in the big leagues? DM needs to get over his infatuation with the slight speed burners. It is baseball. You need to hit the ball to show how fast you can run. Everyone compared Gathright to Willie Wilson. Wow, really? Wilson was fast, yes he was. He wasn't track fast he was football fast. He wasn't skinny like Gathright and Dyson. He and Cain have similar body types. I guess having Dyson for late defense and base running is a nice weapon. The competition for roster spots outside of utility guy and back up outfielder is limited. That can be bad. You don't want anyone to have a sense of entitlement. Hosmer can go ahead and feel he is entitled, I guess. He is going to be very good. Giovatella just handed the second base bag doesn't seem like the best thing. Maybe having an old guy around would help by providing competition. I guess it isn't competition if the old guy is guaranteed a roster spot. I'm guessing they wouldn't sign if they weren't given the guarantee. Gio has me nervous, folks. Hey at least they can keep Getz and have a back up for one spot!
Talk of locking up Alex long term. I'd hold off on that, too. I really loved the season Alex put together last year. I'm just not sure if he grew into something or if it was an aberration. Wait until later. I guess I wouldn't kick and scream if they signed him. I am an optimist and the only way the Royals will be 500 and in contention is if Alex plays at the same level or a littler higher next year. I'd wait but paying him now makes sense. Maybe he can play short on the days Alcides gets a rest.
Royals seemed to have missed a chance with Cahill from the A's. I heard the Gio Gonzalez rumors and was cool with that. Cahill to the D Backs is a good move for them. The Royals should try to emulate the D Backs. Joel Saunders will be available now, I'd guess. He isn't Gio but he'd be cheaper.
OK, stove is idling. Heat it up, Royals.
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Winter Meetings, Royals style 2
According to MLBtraderumors.com the Royals are shopping Navarro to open a space for Rule 5. I hope that is just a rumor. You can't take a roster spot on a team that may be able to compete and fill it with Nate Adcock Jr. You need a player that contributes. OK, I get it, Soria was a Rule 5 pick and he has been fantastic. I would not sacrifice a spot on the 25 man roster for a Rule 5 guy. Let's hope it is just a rumor. Oh by the way you NEED to have a utility guy. Come on. No backup at SS or third or second, yeah good idea lets draft an arm and not have anyone to spell our infield. Come on Dayton make sensible moves. You need Navarro or another guy to back up multiple positions. You don't need the Rule 5 guy. I guess if the Rule 5 guy was a utility guy with an awesome glove that would kill a couple birds with one stone but I'd prefer taking a pass on the Rule 5.
No real heat on the stove but it has been a fun 4 days in Dallas. The Royals have been linked to Gio and Shields. I'd prefer Gio but it seems rather slow going in Moneyball Land. They will want a haul for him. Oh well I'm just glad the Royals were in. Who knows, maybe something will come out of the meetings. Hosmer and Butler at least have a reasonable platoon. The other guys will have to play 162. The Royals don't even have a backup catcher at this point. Oh that's right it is December 7, not April 7.
Come on Royals release or trade Blake Wood but lets keep Navarro for a spell.
PS. I'm still bumming over the Frank White firing. Hopefully someone will own the deed. I'm kind of doubting that will happen. I read a post from a venerable visitor to the Royals message board and he said he wasn't going to discuss the current management because it upset him so much. He actually knows Frank White. I'll take his positive approach. I can't help but discuss the management but I'll temper my temper. Not easy for a full blooded Irishman, but I'll try. Thanks Innings.
Sunday, December 4, 2011
Winter meetings, Royals style.
The winter meetings start in Dallas. Reyes is set to sign a contract for way too much for way too many years so the Marlins can pretend to try to compete for fans in the Miami market. They should have made that team move. I think Reyes is overpaid. I'm a Royals fan so Ozzie isn't a favorite. I expect an implosion of epic proportions coming from South Florida. There will be a honeymoon period but sooner or later it will be Ozzie or Hanley. I'm guessing that will come quick if Hanley is forced to move his lazy butt from short. Maybe he will be motivated, but I don't see it. Ok, now for the Royals. What will they do? They need to solidify the starters. I doubt they will do anything of consequence at the meetings. They may trade is the rumor. OK, trade who for who. I don't know. I'd like to think they are in on Gio. You have to drop a line to Oakland if you are DM. They will need to give up some of the greatest "farm" ever to get a good pitcher. I've mentioned many times that a great farm would include great pitchers. I don't want to be too critical of the current General Manager because who knows what he would do to me if he can dismiss a Royals icon for being too critical, he may put a hit out on me. Well, Dayton, you have done nothing, nothing, nothing to prove you can build a contending team. NOTHING. You drafted Hosmer and overpaid him. He is the real deal, good job. Maybe after he wins batting titles or, say, 8 Gold Gloves, you can kick his butt out of the organization. Phew, that vent felt good. Dayton is a pretentious jerk. The only way he should approach Frank White is to ask him if he wants coffee or a Pepsi Max. Telling him he is too critical of the sloppy, losing teams that have taken the field the past couple of years in KC takes balls. Balls that would have probably gotten through the leaky defense of recent times.
Now what must be done to improve the current Royals team? Trade for a frontline starter. Give up some prospects and get a number one or number 2 guy. If not beat the bushes for a utility guy. Just a heads up their Dayton, you need a guy that can play short. Escobar may need a day or two off. Oops there I go again. The critical nature of that statement is too much. Navarro my be the utility guy, and he is in house. Getz can pack. Maier can too.
Utility player and starting pitching. That seems to be the biggest needs. You also need to address the announcing team. If it is Monty you have lost your mind. He is awful. The teams he played for in KC weren't the teams that Frank played for. That team was at least the second best team in baseball for many years. You may not remember, Dayton, but the Royals were a perennial contender in the AL West when there was two divisions. They won the division going away and lost heartbreaking series to the Yankees. They were good baseball teams that played the game right. Not sure I see that with the teams you have put together. I'm sure the process you allude to will build a team that may compare on a small scale to that one, but firing one of the last guys from that team that actually contributed to the current team isn't the way to go about it. I don't know you, Dayton, but I'm guessing you must want to be in control. You can't say that the idea wasn't yours. If you do take your head out of David Glass' ass. Put a winning team on the field. If they don't win prepare to be criticized. Your skin better get thicker. You can't fire all the fans you pissed off. I hope you get a boycott for the All Star game. Maybe the fan fest fans will be remembered then. Every day low prices, every day sinking class. Pick it up GENERAL manager Moore. David can always find another willing to stick his head up his ass.
Friday, December 2, 2011
Frank fired.
This post doesn't really fit the tone of the rest of the blog but Frank White being fired needs to be addressed. Frank wasn't the best broadcaster, that I'll agree with. He was kind of stiff and he wasn't a natural. He was, however, insightful. He'd give lessons on how to play the second base plays that we are all better off for having heard. There has to be a better way to handle one of the greatest Royals. You don't fire him. You can work things out and allow for a more graceful exit, can't you? They wouldn't do that to Brett, would they? I consider Frank White as one of the greatest Royals and I'm upset that he got unceremoniously canned by Fox Sports. Come on. Show some class Royals and let Frank announce he is off to do something else. The Glass Legacy in KC has done nothing, nothing as far as producing winning baseball. Now you can a great baseball player that was part of more than a decade of great, winning baseball. I'll always be a huge Frank White, Willie Wilson, Amos Otis, Freddie Patek, UL Washington,Charlie Leibrandt,Bret Saberhagen, and others fan. I'm just not too proud to be a KC Royals fan today. Class may rhyme with Glass, but that is as close as that guy gets to the word.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)