Friday, June 15, 2012

Royals with 100 games to go

The Royals have 100 games left. They are currently 28-34. This is pretty much the high water mark for the season. They had a chance to get to 4 games below 500 but they didn't get there. They are riding a crazy 4 game winning streak. The 4 games have all been 1 run games. The last three have been of the walk off variety. I know you can't get a "walk off" win on the road, but throwing out the tying run at the plate counts. I was moaning how this team finds ways to lose games. They have been winning in a variety of ways. The pitching has been very, very good this month. I think the team is 7-6 for June. That's just going by feel, but it is close. I know that each win has been by one run. The team has had terrific STARTING pitching this month. I never thought I'd write that about this team. Mazzaro was pretty good tonight. No, he was good. Luke was good last night. I'm as excited as any Royals fan with the good play. The offense is so bad. They can't score more than 4 runs. Here is to hoping that the offense will start clicking soon. Getz is doing well. Dyson is fast, and he scored the winning run in the walk off, but he isn't the best fielding center fielder I've ever seen. He isn't a good fielder at all. I'd love for the Royals to have three legit MLB players in the outfield. I'll settle for 1.5. Frenchy did the best thing for the team last night. Getting ejected was glorious. The guy rubs me wrong. 62 games and he hasn't driven in 20 runs. I, for one, am counting the days until Wil Myers is up. I'm secretly hoping that it doesn't happen until September. If it happens before that it means this Royals team, like every team since 94 has dropped into the abyss. I know they had a winning season mixed in, but do you really remember that season? 2012 may be the end of the streak. The team my be 500 and in contention. Heck, they are only a few games behind the Tigers. Who would have guessed that? Many things can change, hopefully the Royals will be in contention. The streak has me feeling a little positive. The good pitching has me confused. Happy, but confused. Go Royals.

No comments:

Post a Comment