Saturday, June 2, 2012
Royals winning May, same to start June
Paulino and the pen shut the Athletics out last night. The 2-0 win was very nice to see. The Royals won a home game, the Royals won a home game! Sounds crazy to celebrate a home win against a poorer team at the start of June, but hey I will celebrate anything positive for this team. Quick thoughts: Yuni is back, Falu is sent down. Giavotella and his 230 batting average and less than stellar D at one position stays. I like the Falu story. I'd rather have a switch hitter capable of playing more than 1 position but I don't get to make the decisions. I'm tiring of the Gio watch. Kid hasn't been hitting. He is here to hit. I find myself happy that Yuni is in the game. His double won the game last night. Gio is not a bust yet, but I'm getting tired of waiting on him. Yuni is back. Sanchez is rehabbing and he will be back soon. I'm thinking that he needs to stay hurt. I don't like the vibe he sends off. The guy seems to dislike baseball. He doesn't strike me as the most hard working guy. The big leagues are full of great hitters that will make adjustments. If you can't get the ball over the plate you will have an ERA like he has. If he comes back as the same 5 walks, 6 ERA guy just cut your loses with him. Sanchez, Getz, Perez, Cain, and the list of injuries goes on and on. The fact that Perez is getting close is nice. Quintero and Pena have held down the catching position pretty well. I can't wait until Perez gets back. That is a player who makes a difference. When he is ready, which will still be a while, who do the Royals jettison? DM has an unhealthy attraction to Bryan Pena. He traded for Quintero. Don't tell me that this team will keep three catchers, don't tell me that. I have an idea of how I'd handle that situation, but I have a different thinking "process". Pitching continues to be the biggest question. Mazzaro will get a start tomorrow. That scares me. Broxton has been pretty good lately. That surprises me. Luke is Luke and that frustrates me. Paulino has been the defact ace of this rag tag rotation. He has been good. Chen is Chen. Come on Chen! Royals still climbing back from the 12 game losing streak. They are currently 22-28. I'd say they have been better, not as good as I expected at the start of the season, though. I really thought this team would be 500 and in Contention. They are closer than they were at 3-14, but hey have a long way to go. Hosmer isn't a bust but this season has been awful. He may need to go back to chasing storms. That is probably drastic but his AB's have been awful. Hopefully he will get his groove back. Gordon has to start finding it too. I guess I was blinded by hope after last year. I figured Gordon and Hosmer would be last year or better for years to come. Looks like I was wrong. If they are just slumping then the season has a chance. OK, Myers time. What to do with Will? He tore AA up. He is currently tearing AAA up. What do the Royals do? Nothing. That's what I'd do. Let Will tear up the PCL. He may get a shot but it won't be soon unless there is an injury. If the kid could play center, and Cain is done for the year then bring him on up if the floor falls out of the record. Otherwise leave him where he is. Bring him up for September and let it rip. DO NOT TRADE HIM FOR PITCHING. The fabulous farm should develop pitching not trade their best commodity for used goods.
Here we go Royals. Keep plugging away at 500. Contention in the mediocre AL Central will follow. Undefeated June here we come.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment