Friday, June 15, 2012
Royals with 100 games to go
The Royals have 100 games left. They are currently 28-34. This is pretty much the high water mark for the season. They had a chance to get to 4 games below 500 but they didn't get there. They are riding a crazy 4 game winning streak. The 4 games have all been 1 run games. The last three have been of the walk off variety. I know you can't get a "walk off" win on the road, but throwing out the tying run at the plate counts. I was moaning how this team finds ways to lose games. They have been winning in a variety of ways. The pitching has been very, very good this month. I think the team is 7-6 for June. That's just going by feel, but it is close. I know that each win has been by one run. The team has had terrific STARTING pitching this month. I never thought I'd write that about this team. Mazzaro was pretty good tonight. No, he was good. Luke was good last night. I'm as excited as any Royals fan with the good play. The offense is so bad. They can't score more than 4 runs. Here is to hoping that the offense will start clicking soon. Getz is doing well. Dyson is fast, and he scored the winning run in the walk off, but he isn't the best fielding center fielder I've ever seen. He isn't a good fielder at all. I'd love for the Royals to have three legit MLB players in the outfield. I'll settle for 1.5. Frenchy did the best thing for the team last night. Getting ejected was glorious. The guy rubs me wrong. 62 games and he hasn't driven in 20 runs. I, for one, am counting the days until Wil Myers is up. I'm secretly hoping that it doesn't happen until September. If it happens before that it means this Royals team, like every team since 94 has dropped into the abyss. I know they had a winning season mixed in, but do you really remember that season? 2012 may be the end of the streak. The team my be 500 and in contention. Heck, they are only a few games behind the Tigers. Who would have guessed that? Many things can change, hopefully the Royals will be in contention. The streak has me feeling a little positive. The good pitching has me confused. Happy, but confused.
Go Royals.
Monday, June 11, 2012
Zack back, Royals bad as usual.
Zack Greinke will make his return to KC tomorrow. Count me as one that is not impressed. Zack's Cy Young season was special. He is likable enough, I guess. He was a damn good pitcher and he was awesome during his Cy Young season. The part I remember best, and the reason I said good riddance to the guy is the way he quit on the Royals. He did too! He quit throwing his slider and he went through the motions because he wanted to save himself for his new team, I guess. Well, there you go. You are a Brewer. I see you are throwing the tight slider again. Good for you. I don't dislike Greinke, but I'm not all that sad he is gone. I would love the Royals to have an ace, but they don't have one. I guess I'd love them to have an ace that wanted to be here. One that would actually try to win games he started with ALL his pitches. Long for the old days with Zack if you want. I prefer to let those days go. I watched Zack pitch one time. He was awesome against the Angels in Anaheim. He lost 1-0. I see why he wanted out, but that doesn't excuse him from the BS way he quit before he was traded. That's out of the way. The Royals are, simply, a bad baseball team. They can't hit and they can't score runs. The were just swept by the Pirates. That team is building. The Royals are treading water in choppy waters. They will sink soon. This team finds ways to lose games. I'm so glad they had the best farm system in the history of baseball. This lineup sure reflects that doesn't it? Hosmer suffering the sophomore slump, big time. Gordon fooled me. I guess he is a 250 hitter. I really thought he turned a corner last year. Frenchy isn't worth my time. Butler has hit well but he is not driving anyone in anymore. Moose has been pretty good. Escobar has been very good. Center field is empty. The rotation is awful, but they have outperformed the line up. This team cannot hit for power at all. They are opposite of clutch. They are LAST in the American league in hitting. LAST. They are in last place in the division. They are in the midst of another long losing streak. This team will not be 500 and in contention. They can't hit well enough. They simply don't score runs. Hosmer has been a huge disappointment. I refuse to get excited when he gets his average up to 225. I figured he would be 100 points higher than that. I really thought that. I also thought that Alex had turned a corner. Well he is circling the block. He has been bad. Hosmer has been awful, but he will catch and pass Alex by the end of June. Both of them will be ahead of the overpaid, on the wrong team Frenchy. I'm past the disappointment of the season. I'm diving into disgust. There is no bright spots on the team. The All Star game being played in the K will be cool. I can't wait to watch the home run contest. The ball can actually go over the fence at the K. You would think it was the biggest park in history. The Royals can't home runs, true, but their opponents have no problem. Even the concussed Morneau can clear the wall. I'm tired. The Royals have worn this long time fan out. I can't take the idea that every loss could be the start of a double digit losing streak. The current streak is at 4. They will basically give up against Zack to stretch it to 5. I'm tired of these guys. Perez will be back and that will help the team. Odorizzi needs to be up and throw 100 innings at the big league level. The Royals really need to think about signing Hamels or some other big time pitcher. It is time for the team to earn my fan ship. No effort on their part to win shouldn't be rewarded by me or any other Royals fan. Here is to hoping the current losing streak won't reach 19.
Go Royals. I'm close to gone.
Saturday, June 2, 2012
Royals winning May, same to start June
Paulino and the pen shut the Athletics out last night. The 2-0 win was very nice to see. The Royals won a home game, the Royals won a home game! Sounds crazy to celebrate a home win against a poorer team at the start of June, but hey I will celebrate anything positive for this team. Quick thoughts: Yuni is back, Falu is sent down. Giavotella and his 230 batting average and less than stellar D at one position stays. I like the Falu story. I'd rather have a switch hitter capable of playing more than 1 position but I don't get to make the decisions. I'm tiring of the Gio watch. Kid hasn't been hitting. He is here to hit. I find myself happy that Yuni is in the game. His double won the game last night. Gio is not a bust yet, but I'm getting tired of waiting on him. Yuni is back. Sanchez is rehabbing and he will be back soon. I'm thinking that he needs to stay hurt. I don't like the vibe he sends off. The guy seems to dislike baseball. He doesn't strike me as the most hard working guy. The big leagues are full of great hitters that will make adjustments. If you can't get the ball over the plate you will have an ERA like he has. If he comes back as the same 5 walks, 6 ERA guy just cut your loses with him. Sanchez, Getz, Perez, Cain, and the list of injuries goes on and on. The fact that Perez is getting close is nice. Quintero and Pena have held down the catching position pretty well. I can't wait until Perez gets back. That is a player who makes a difference. When he is ready, which will still be a while, who do the Royals jettison? DM has an unhealthy attraction to Bryan Pena. He traded for Quintero. Don't tell me that this team will keep three catchers, don't tell me that. I have an idea of how I'd handle that situation, but I have a different thinking "process". Pitching continues to be the biggest question. Mazzaro will get a start tomorrow. That scares me. Broxton has been pretty good lately. That surprises me. Luke is Luke and that frustrates me. Paulino has been the defact ace of this rag tag rotation. He has been good. Chen is Chen. Come on Chen! Royals still climbing back from the 12 game losing streak. They are currently 22-28. I'd say they have been better, not as good as I expected at the start of the season, though. I really thought this team would be 500 and in Contention. They are closer than they were at 3-14, but hey have a long way to go. Hosmer isn't a bust but this season has been awful. He may need to go back to chasing storms. That is probably drastic but his AB's have been awful. Hopefully he will get his groove back. Gordon has to start finding it too. I guess I was blinded by hope after last year. I figured Gordon and Hosmer would be last year or better for years to come. Looks like I was wrong. If they are just slumping then the season has a chance. OK, Myers time. What to do with Will? He tore AA up. He is currently tearing AAA up. What do the Royals do? Nothing. That's what I'd do. Let Will tear up the PCL. He may get a shot but it won't be soon unless there is an injury. If the kid could play center, and Cain is done for the year then bring him on up if the floor falls out of the record. Otherwise leave him where he is. Bring him up for September and let it rip. DO NOT TRADE HIM FOR PITCHING. The fabulous farm should develop pitching not trade their best commodity for used goods.
Here we go Royals. Keep plugging away at 500. Contention in the mediocre AL Central will follow. Undefeated June here we come.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)