Saturday, January 28, 2012
Prince and the Paupers?
Prince signs for a ton of years for way too much money. That makes the Detroit Tigers the runaway favorites in the AL Central, right? Prince and Cabrera are very, very good. Verlander and Velverde are very, very good. The Tigers won the division by 15 games last year. The addition of Prince Fielder has to make them the favorites. I guess I agree with this assessment. The Tigers are good. Cabrera and Fielder are a ridiculous combo. The White Sox are a mess. The Indians are trying, but they need pitching. Preferably guys who say who they really are. Ubaldo is good and they will be OK. The Twins, remember them? The group that gave a huge contract to Mauer and Morneau. Mauer pretty much can't catch and Morneau is struggling coming back from concussion symptoms. Investing huge cash may pay off in the short run, but I'd take the Royals finances over the Twins any day of the week. The Twins are no threat to the Tigers. Twins, Sox, Indians are not credible in the long run. I see the Indians having the best year. I don't like the mix of players in Chicago. They will be better simply because Ozzie brought his freak show to Miami, but they are too old and too expensive to compete. I'd take the Royals finances over the Sox. I think I'd even take Moore over Williams. Don't care for Kenny's persona. Maybe he was just trying to outdo his former manager, but he is hard headed and makes some dumb moves. I've eliminated every team in the division except for the Royals. The Royals don't have Verlander, no team outside of Detroit has him. They don't have Cabrera. They have Butler who can't play the field, either. Could you imagine Billy trotting out to third base? It has been a long time since Miguel played third base. That was many years and many six packs and tequila bottles ago. He is way too heavy and disinterested to make the adjustment to third. The Royals don't have Prince, either. He of the 38 homers and too many RBI's for me to remember. Prince is playing in Comerica Park now. Miller Field is more hitter friendly. I'm not saying Prince won't hit 30 homers, I'm saying he will hit closer to 30 than 40. He won't be playing all those games in Houston and Wrigley. He will be playing in Minnesota and KC. Those parks, along with Comerica are pretty tough homer parks. I'm saying the Royals have a shot at second place, I really believe that. They play well against the Tigers, that won't change because of Prince. Victor Martinez kills the Royals anyway. I see the Tigers being good but not unbeatable like they were in 1984. What a team that was. This Tiger crew won't go 35-5 to start the season. The Royals won't either. The Royals need pitching, pitching, pitching. I'd bet right now that Hosmer has equal numbers to Prince at the All Star break. Hoz hits for average and he will hit more homers. He and Butler and Gordon will lead a formidable line up. If and it is a huge IF, but if the Pitching can be good the Royals will not lose the division by 15 games to the Tigers. They may not win the thing but they will be close. Luke and Sanchez have to realize potential. Paulino has to prove that last years flashes were what we can expect. Chen has to be Chen, come on Chen! Duffy has to take a giant step forward.If this occurs and the bull pen is as lock down as I see it being, I see the Royals at 500 and in contention, even with the big, bad Tigers. Royals fans know that Billy Butler can't play third base. Tigers fans have to watch their star struggle trying to turn back time. I'd take our position on that. Now imagine how financially strung out the Tigers will be over the next decade. They have to sell a ton of Hot and Ready Pizzas to cover that payroll. I just hope Miguel gets to the pizzas first. Just having fun, Tigers are good, but the Royals COULD be good too.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment