Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Broxton on board.

The Royals signed Broxton today. Here I was thinking the stove was cold! Like the Melky trade for Sanchez I like the pick up. My first thought was it reminded me of something the Rays would do. Broxton is a risk, I'll admit that. He had bone spurs, though, not Tommy John. A solid bullpen is a an absolute must for a Royals team that is going to contend. Hoechevar, Chen and Sanchez are not efficient. I'm hoping Eiland can help that but the pen is going to be relied on heavily. The move is fine. The money is fine. The part that I will wait and see on is what happens to Soria? I just assumed that Broxton would set up and Soria would close. If that is the case you have a very valuable commodity in Crow. Does he slip into the 7th inning? That might be perfect for Aaron. He was lights out until he realized he was in the big leagues and doing well. His selection to the All Star game ruined his season. Alex should have been an all star. That being said, Crow, Holland, Coleman, Herrera, and Collins and Teaford make for a talented bull pen, very talented. I didn't forget Blake Wood, I figured he wouldn't make the cut with the names you see there. I realize pushing Herrera to the bigs might be a mistake. I'd still take him over Wood. The guy is a gas can. He gives up a run every inning he pitches. It drives me crazy. Teaford may make the rotation but Laffey is a lefty that has worth. I contend that you MUST have 2 lefties in the pen. Maybe Teaford makes the rotation, maybe he doesn't. The bottom line is the addition of Broxton provides depth in the pen. Doesn't that remind you of something a well run team like Tampa would do? What would the hot stove season be without more rumors. DM is planning on trading Soria. He may get traded to Toronto for Rasmus. Maybe the Braves will be involved, too and Cain will be thrown in and we will get Rasmus and a pitcher. Very fun rumors. I, for one, hope the Royals keep them both and build a great pen. The competition will be intense. You still have Jeffress out there. I just don't see him amounting to anything, but his fastball can't be denied. Keep Soria and Broxton. Build a nails bull pen with the stable of arms you already have. Start Gordon, Cain, and Frency in the outfield. Rasmus can stay with his Daddy in Toronto. I like the move. I hope that big ol Hoss comes in and K's the first 15 guys he faces! Go Royals. You surprised me with this move. Hey I can handle more. How about one more starter?

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Urgent Update, Urgent Update!

Royals agree to sign Bruce Chen. Yeah baby!! I thought the Royals were very quiet. Bruce signing for 2 years and 9 million with bonuses that could bring it up to 11 or 12. I mentioned earlier that the Royals should sign Bruce for 2 years and 7.5. I said at the time that 7.5 probably wouldn't get it done. I was right but, more importantly, the Royals were right. Chen is a good guy. No, he isn't an ace. He truly isn't Zack Grienke. Remember Zack. He is the guy that gave up on the Royals. While Zack was putting his slider in his back pocket for safe keeping Chen was going out and battling in September. He led the team in wins when Grienke was here. He led them last year, too. No, he isn't an ace, but he isn't a cry baby quitter. He isn't one to demand a trade. I totally enjoyed Zack during his Cy young year. I only saw him pitch once live. He pitched a great game in Anaheim. He got beat 1-0. I was frustrated, so he must have been too. He really did quit and refused to throw his slider because he was basically saving himself for Milwaukee. I'm glad Zack is in Milwaukee. I'm really glad Bruce is back in KC. Good news. Now the Royals have Luke, Sanchez, Chen, Paulino, Duffy and others. Not the Phillies rotation but it can be good. I used to end my posts by saying sign Chen, come on! Well, thanks I guess!!

Greatest Farm System ever part 2

Hot stove has cooled considerably, so here are some random Thanksgiving musings. The Royals have an open spot in the 40 man roster. That could be intriguing. I hope it is filled by a middle tier free agent. Edwin Jackson is better than another Rule 5 player. I don't think the Royals can afford to give up a roster spot to a Rule 5 guy. Adcock was average, or just below, last year. I don't think that is what this team needs. Shouldn't a team with the "Greatest Farm System Ever" GFSE, be able to find farm hands to take the spot. The Royals shouldn't have to look onto other farms. The GFSE shall fill all spots with quality players! I know you guys will hammer me because the farm system has produced Hosmer and ....................., OK, so? I'll ask the question I always ask when the GFSE is mentioned: Where is the pitching? Where oh where is the pitching. I love Hosmer. He will be a great player. He is the real deal. I'm just saying that the GFSE should have quality starting pitching at AAA. Major league ready arms that are capable of contributing. Duffy is ready and he will contribute. Who else do the Royals have? Mendoza was good at AAA. I'm all for giving him a chance for the rotation, but he isn't Jeremy Hellickson. I'm not jealous of other teams farms, I'm not saying the drafts were awful. I'm just saying the Royals don't have the Greatest Farm System Ever. Mendoza, SOS,Mazzaro, there is your AAA rotation. Mendoza has a chance to prove he belongs at in the bigs. I've seen enough of the other two. I can't shake the feeling that second and third are going to be a problem, too. Giavotella scares me. Moose was better at the end. I'm hoping that Moose will continue from where he left off. If he does third is fine. If Giavotella doesn't kick it up numerous notches then there is a problem with the "set" lineup. I'm being too quick with Gio? Maybe, but it is a concern for me. He doesn't have the luxury of coming and hitting in the 240's with no power. Getz can do that. Getz will also steal way more bases than Gio will. I don't want Getz on the 25 man roster so I'm cheering for Gio, but I'm nervous. Is Pena going to be the backup to Perez? Probably, and I can live with that. I like Pena for some reason. He looked awful protecting the plate a few time last year but I still prefer him to spending money on a different backup. DM has got to be stopped. We all remember the last free agent catcher he brought in for way too much money. I'm not talking about Treanor! I think I liked the Guillen signing better than out friend the unnamed catcher. I never really thought about it that way before. Guillen was a HUGE mistake, but Kendall was just as bad. That guy rubbed me wrong ever since he was with the A's. Oh well I guess I will name him. Jason Kendall. No way, DM, just stick with Pena. He doesn't bother me. I hope if you are true Royals fan you read that part about Guillen over Kendall and explain how wrong I am on the comments. Don't get nasty just start a conversation. The hot stove is too cold! Thanksgiving, Royal fans. Eat well. Cherish family moments. Laugh loudly. Enjoy the quiet times. Overall try to have as much fun as possible knowing that there is an open spot on the 40 man roster!

Friday, November 18, 2011

"Greatest farm system ever". Nope

Royals have been busy enough this offseason. They added Verdugo to the 40 man bringing that total to 39. No real reason to think anything is in the works, I guess I'm just hoping. Oswalt and Buerhle have been rumored. Too old and expensive. I think Roy was a fine NL pitcher for a long time. Degenerative discs in his back is just too big a red flag. I disagree with others who think that signing him would be good. I'd be OK with Buerhle, though. AL Central veteran. The kind of pitcher that throws strikes, and strikes, and strikes. He would be a great influence on Duffy, in my opinion. I just don't see the change of venue from the windy city to KC. I'm hoping the Royals pursue Gio Gonzalez from Oakland. Another lefty, but he could be available if the Royals are willing to give up some of the great prospects. How can the Royals have such a great system when there isn't one "prospect" that can be counted on to compete for a spot in the rotation? Man that BS about the "greatest farm system ever" is a crock. I know Lamb got hurt but wasn't Monty the biggest "prospect"? How does his AAA season project to the bigs? He got rocked. He wasn't good at that level, in fact he was poor. Duffy was up and contributing, true, but the greatest farm ever should have pitchers I would think. The Rays trip over major league ready guys and the greatest farm system ever can't send up one? Smoke being blown. Argue all you want about the Hosmers, Moose, Perez, Giavotella, Cain even. That is a great bunch of position players. They don't pitch the last time I checked. Trade some guys for pitchers or draft/develop some. The team will struggle without better pitching. The trade for Jurrgens AND Prado may have been the best answer. Gio didn't really impress me at second last year. He is hurt and he is young. He may be the next great thing but Prado led the league in hits a few years ago. I don't know if the Royals could have gotten both guys I'm just speculating, which is why there are so many blog/sites to explore on this topic. I think Giavotella is a key and I'm nervous about his ability to produce. I have the same concerns at third. Moose was way better in September but he really was bad early in the year. He cost the Royals quite a few games. You can't have your third baseman hitting in the 180's with no power and not have it cost you big time. The Royals cannot afford that same Moose to show up. They need the guy that was hitting with runners on and hitting for power to show up in March and hang out through October. What if he doesn't? What if Giavotella isn't Dustin Pedroia part 2? What if he is just a below average second baseman? Well, if either of those scenarios comes true the Royals are cooked. They don't have any "farm" hands to take over for them. I'm very optimistic that the Royals will be better, but it won't be easy. Please don't tell me the line up is set. They need to have a good utility plan. Navarro is fine, in my estimation. He can back up at SS which they didn't even bother with last year. The Giavotella injury may lead to Getz being offered arbitration. I hope not. I think the Royals need to move on from Getz. He can't play short. If he could back up at short, second and third, OK. You could keep him and it would be nice. I guess I'll hope for the best from Moose and Giavotella. All Royals fans have to hope for that. Monty, Odorizzi, Arguellas, I guess they have hope on the "farm" Best ever? Nope! Positive: Sanchez will have a good/great season next year. The whole staff will improve. They will take a page from the D Backs and drop the staff ERA. How did the Snakes do last year? That is my secret hope. The Royals will be the D Backs of next year. Negative: The "set" lineup scares me. Two BIG holes at second and third may rip the season up before it gets a chance. It is November 18 so I choose positive! Oh, by the way. Sign Bruce Chen!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

November 16, Oswalt?

Royals are going to meet with Roy Oswalt in Milwaukee. Sounds like smoke and mirrors to me. I remember Roy mentioning retirement last year when his back acted up. I'm not sure the Royals ought to go after a guy who keeps talking about retirement. Chances are he will run into problems again. I'm older than Roy and my back hurts all the time! I'm just saying that a career NL pitcher with back issues isn't where the Royals need to be searching for starters. I tend to think that the interest is fleeting, I hope so at least. I still would bring Chen back. If you have read anything I've written I think Chen deserves a two year deal. He would be cheaper than Roy and you know what you will get with him. He has been in KC for two successful years. If you watched the Royals late in 10 or 11 seasons which pitcher had the most September success? Wasn't Zack Grienke. That guy gave up the slider, remember that? He quit on the Royals and saved himself to get shelled in the playoffs in Milwaukee. Chen was much more successful than any other Royals pitcher late in the season. Roy may not make it to September. He may retire, two or three times!! Come on Royals sign Chen and let Roy go to the old pitchers home in peace.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Zambrano and Cubs still friends.

I read on www.mlbtraderumors.com that Zambrano and Epstein have been in touch and that Z wants to stay and the Cubs want him. I think that is just super. The Royals have no need for Zambrano, none. They have Luke, Paulino, Duffy, Sanchez, as 4 of the 5 rotation guys. Teaford, Mazzaro, SOS, Mendoza, as possibilities. That's 8 for 5 spots. The thing that I see is that 8 arms doesn't really mean they have 8 starters. I'm not sure what to make of SOS and Mazzaro. I've seen enough to know that each would be all star pitchers in AAAA. They get blasted in the bigs. The scuttlebutt is that the Royals won't spend for top of the rotation guys now that they have Sanchez. OK, they don't really have a top of the rotation either. It pains me to write 8 names for the rotation and leave my boy Chen off the list. I have said he deserves a chance. He even stated that he would like to return. I would give him 2 years 7.5. Guess what? That probably won't get it done. Down year in free agency and Bruce may bust the 10 mill mark for 2 years. The Royals need to offer arbitration, though. 8 arms and, maybe 3.5 MLB starters. The stove better not cool completely. The best news is that Z and Epstein are in a honeymoon phase. The Royals need pitching but they don't need Z. No Z, but no fanfest. The Royals must have had to sell out quite a bit to get the All Star game. Oh well, hopefully the K will be filled on more than 1 night this year. Go Royals. Sign Chen, come on! (To arbitration at least).

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Carlos Zambrano?

The Royals hot stove continues to be hot. Rumors are that the Royals are interested in Carlos Zambrano. I hope the interest is just an inquiry. He is a huge pain and he has a huge contract. Now way the Royals should try this. Zambrano is old, too expensive and a little crazy. Theo is the GM. He will look like a genius if he unloads Z. Epstein is NOT a genius and DM should run and hide from Zambrano. The Cubs have nothing the Royals want. They do have a Starling, but they wouldn't be open to trading him. The Royals need to keep searching for better pitching. DO NOT quibble with Zambrano!

Monday, November 7, 2011

Melky for Sanchez

Royals hot stove cooking with gas! Melky traded for Jonathan Sanchez. On the surface I like the deal. Sanchez had a down year last year. He was injured and his stats were off. The injury was an ankle, not an elbow or shoulder, so that is good. Sanchez is a strike out pitcher. A power lefty that has proven he is tough. I know it was the NL, but so what. He has had success in the major leagues and he has had success in the playoffs and World Series. I like the deal. Last year when Melky was signed I thought it was just a favor to him. He then put up solid, solid numbers. He was a great contributor and he seemed to enjoy his time in KC. 200 hits in a season is an accomplishment and Melky was awesome in his time here. That being acknowledged, he was expendable. I don't like that term but the Royals have Cain and they have Dyson. That gives them flexibility in the CF position. If Cain falls flat, then try Dyson. I don't think Cain will struggle. I think he will be fine. I expect he may duplicate the Melkman's numbers. That is wishful thinking I know. Come on, this is a blog called Royals 500 and in contention so you have to expect that wishful thinking will show up.
Sanchez immediately tightens up the rotation. Luke, Duffy, Sanchez, Paulino. The 5th spot is open. I'm nervous that my man Chen may be as expendable as Melky. Mendoza deserves a shot at the rotation. SOS and Mazzaro and Teaford are due a shot, too. Just adding Sanchez's name makes that group look better. I heard Sanchez's name come up last when DDJ was about to be traded. I liked that deal and I like this one. I like the left handed strike out guys. I am not in the prediction business but I think Sanchez will have a good season. He needs to throw more strikes and go deeper into games. That is what they hired Eiland for.
I keep saying sign Chen, Come on! He will be offered arbitration. The club has to offer. He is a plan B free agent so the worst the Royals can do is get Chen back or get the sandwich pick. Offer him arbitration. In the current market Chen may get two years at 5-6 mill per. I don't know if I'd pay that. Two at 8 mill I'd do. We shall see. I doubt the Royals make any more splashy moves but I do love this one.
What happens next? Sign Alex long term. Offer Bruce arb. Oh and sign Pujols, Fielder, and Reyes. That should be about it!!
Thanks Melky, you were way better than I thought you could be. I liked your style and your production spoke for itself. Good luck by the bay. I sure hope they don't put you in center in that yard! Good grief.

Saturday, November 5, 2011

November 5

Jurrgens and Prado? Royals rumored to be "in on Jurrgens". OK, that's fine. Injury prone, maybe, but a good pitcher. Lorenzo Cain and Dwyer have come up. This kind of trade is fine with me. The Royals are "stuck" with the Melk man in Center. Now Prado is also "available". Why not both these guys? Gio is hurt. Moose is an unknown and Prado has flexibility. Make the trade for BOTH. Now what you give up is a concern but this is the kind of trade that could make sense.
Jurrgens in the rotation is fine, BUT why not Chen......Come On!

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Congratulations Alex!

Alex Gordon, Gold Glove outfielder. That has a very nice ring to it. He had a very nice year in LF. I don't watch all teams all the time but I watched Alex play a solid LF for the Royals. His plays going to the line were great. His range to his left, toward centerfield, has to get better. Melky just doesn't cover much ground. I'm glad Gordon got recognized. I hope he can replicate his season next year. It will be tough.
Off season is plugging along. Sign Chen, please. That is my request. What is your plan to improve?