Monday, July 9, 2012

Royals at the All Star Break

The All Star break is upon us. The Royals, as seems customary, are pretty much out of contention. They sit 10 games below 500, and they are riding another multi-game losing streak. The team has been better in spurts, but they slip when they get close to 500. They have been at 4 or 5 games below with a chance to get closer then they get swept in a series. The team, simply, isn't very good. It doesn't take sabermetrics to figure out their flaws. Pitching. There that is done. The starters are pathetic. They have the worst ERA in the league. That is all you need to know about this team. The bull pen can be good, but not if they are used every game. Collins has been burned out again. The team will never be good if they don't get pitching. They don't have any prospects so they may never be good. The Process now must be what, wait for Duffy? Wait for Lamb? Wait for Paulino? They might as well sign THE Tommy John. At least he can pitch now. The sorry development, or lack thereof, of pitching will handcuff this franchise going forward. Mijares has been very good in the pen. Broxton is a gravy drinking fat boy that gives me a heart attack every time he pitches. He gets the job done, though. Luke, Chen, Mendoza, yikes. The rotation is awful. Chen should be your 4-5 starter. He has been struggling and killing the bull pen. Luke had a couple excellent starts where he brought his ERA DOWN to 5. something. Come on. He isn't going to develop. The guy has a soft melon. He gives up runs after he is given runs. He pretty much represents the Royals, though. The first overall draft pick and he is 20 games under 500 for his career with an ERA over 5. That's how the team is. It is sad but the pitching is only half the problem. Butler has been having a good year. He is on pace to break his homer and RBI totals. That is great. Moose has been better than I expected power wise. He has 14 at the break and 40 plus RBI's. Escobar has been excellent. Yuni has been one of the most clutch hitters on the team. Take those three out and the line up sucks. Hosmer has been beyond bad. I'm afraid he needs eye surgery again. He swings at everything. Reminds me of The Hammer Hamlin. Remember him? Yeah, I didn't think so. Flash in the pan. Take his Boras-represented self to a big market. I'm done waiting on the Hosmer rise. Frenchy is the poster child for the current GM. Very bad choice keeping Frenchy and giving him the extension. Watching him bat is painful. It is going to be 0-1, then 0-2, then a pop up or strike three. There I'm done talking about Frenchy. Overrated, overpaid, and here to stay. Go Royals. Moore makes bad decisions all the time. He has to be held accountable for the bad decisions he makes. Jose Guillen remember him? I'd rather see Jose at the plate than Frenchy. Overall, I guess I could change the name of the blog but the Royals simply aren't worth the effort to edit the title. They won't be 500, they won't be in contention. They will flounder to 20-25 games below 500. They will continue the PROCESS. They won't sign pitchers. They will give and extension to Dyson, they will do a myriad of dumb things and leave us all scratching our heads. That's the Royals. That's the process. Here's a hint. Score runs and stop the other team from doing the same. That is a process that might succeed. I'm sour. It will just get worse because now is the time of year when the Royals trade to make the team so much better. Lets go get the trash from the curb and make it our own! Go Royals, I know I'm going. I'll post again after the first trade, or when the team is 5 games or closer to 500. See you Mijares, you did well!