Sunday, May 27, 2012
Royals, bad, but not out of it
Hey, it is good to be back. A busy schedule on top of a computer melt down made it impossible to blog for almost two months. Segue time: The Royals are finding it hard to play baseball for the past two months, too. The win in Baltimore today brought Royals to 19-27. OK, the blogs name is Royals 500 and in contention. Not so much at this point. The team "survived" a 12 game losing streak. They lost Perez, Soria, Wood, Duffy, and others to the DL. Hosmer has been awful. Gordon made a liar out of me. Cain also got hurt. The Melkman is leading the entire world in hitting and Sanchez is on the DL. The fact that I like him better on the DL than on the mound says a bunch. This Royals team can't pitch. The rotation was killed when Duffy went down. Paulino has been faking it nicely of late. Chen had improved until his last start. I still think Bruce will be OK. Luke is awful. Sanchez, like was mentioned, is on the DL. I've never seen a guy who hates baseball more than Jonathon seems to. He is a miserable looking young guy. He is also a miserable pitcher. No drive. Nothing but excuses. Not a good trade, as it has turned out. I wasn't opposed to it at the time. I guess Sanchez was a huge disappointment. The starters were a question mark to start the season. The pen was going to be lock down. Holland struggles. Crow hasn't been the same, he has still been pretty good. Coleman gets lit up. Collins and Mijares have been GOOD from the left side. Add Teaford and Hottovy to the lefties and there is a positive. Broxton, oh my, that fat ass gives me a heart attack when he comes into the game. He blew the game that started the 12 gamer. He blew another game that would have been the Royals 5th win in a row. Guy is too inconsistent to be the closer. It doesn't matter all that much because he only gets the chance to blow one or two games a week. How about that set lineup of all young studs we talked so much abut during the spring? Gordon has regressed to the point of Mitch Maier. Francouer is the biggest pain I've seen in a Royal uniform in a long time. His fundamentally unsound play in the outfield drives me crazy. This week he misplayed a single into a double. He knocked the ball out of Giavotella's glove today. He gets caught stealing ALL the time. He is the worst base runner on the team. He has a great arm. He still throws to the wrong base all the time. He irks me. He has been hot at the plate recently. That doesn't make up for the other aspects of his game. He isn't good. Dyson got hurt He isn't good either. One reason I had for optimism in the preseason was I thought Cain would be good. He wasn't good and he got hurt. Dyson and the others in Center have proven to be nonsensical. Maier in Center today. He will just get his timing back. His average will start to climb, then Dyson will be back taking called third strikes and bad angles to fly balls. Center has been an awful hole all year. Moose had been good. He is struggling big time right now. He still looks over matched to me. Dip shit Yost had him hitting clean up today against a lefty. Nice move, Ned. Moose is a 250 hitter with occasional power, best case. Alcides has been very good this year. Good field, better bat. Getz/Yuni/Falu/Gio, have all been GOOD. Gio hasn't done anything but the rest have. Yes, Yuni has made a liar out of me too. He hit pretty well, then he got hurt. That's the only way he can help the team. He was better at second than I thought he would be. The catchers have been doing what you'd expect from two third string catchers. That brings me to Butler and Hosmer. Billy catches his share of blame in this blog. I've said for years that he should be driving the ball more. He should be creating runs. Well, he is doing that. He has 11 homers and 34 RBI's. He is still hitting over 300. He is having a tremendous season. I don't remember the exact date but Billy hit his 10 homer in late July last year. In Boston, I think. He is having a great season. Hosmer has been pathetic. He is completely over matched at the plate. He has brought his average above 200 with two recent 3 hit games. He is pulling off of pitches. He is pressing. He has been awful. He has had a pretty productive 23 RBI's with his 35 hits. I watch the kid bat and he simply looks lost. It isn't his fault the team is as bad as it is. I just never expected that big a drop off from him. Hosmer is the biggest disappointment of a very disappointing season so far. I really like Falu. Escobar has been very fun to watch. Yost angers me most of the time. Broxton scares me. I've said how over rated the farm system is. People believe me now. There isn't one pitching prospect anywhere close to the big leagues. Monty is a bust. Dwyer, same thing. Lamb is hurt, Duffy is hurt, and Arguelles is in AA. Odorizzi is making his way. You would think all that press the farm was getting would have been real if ONE pitcher was on the team. Duffy was, but now he is gone. I guess we wait for DM to reload. I guess its part of the process. I've heard whispers that by the year 2020 the Royals will be ready to contend. The process is hogwash. The season isn't lost yet. Adcock may prove to be a good starter. Chen will win 13 games. Paulino will win if he stays healthy. Luke will give up one more run than the team scores, that is just how he is. Jake Odorizzi will be pitching in KC by July 4 is my prediction. Will Smith can be thrown away. The Royals in their infinite wisdom started him in Yankee stadium. What a dumb move. Hey I haven't lost all hope. The Tigers aren't playing well. The Indians aren't any better than the Royals. The division is awful. Maybe lightning will strike. Hey a 12 game winning streak and the team will be 31-27!
Go Royals, get back to 500. Get into contention.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)