Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Royals off to 81 wins!

Spring has sprung. The practice games are over. The roster is set. The team is in California ready to start the season against the Angels. The 32 game spring schedule resulted in 16 wins and 16 losses. I know people will say that spring stuff doesn't matter. Records and stats are thrown out when the season starts. I don't believe that. The team gets used to winning. They get used to being in games. They get used to having to deliver in the clutch. The Royals did that to the tune of a 500 record. They were much better the last few years in the spring. That may have to do with the new pitching coach, or it may have to do with the fact that the Royals don't have all the studs taking the late game AB's. Those kids are the regulars now. Hosmer, Moose, Cain, they get the early at bats. The second wave of prospects is a ways off. I've mentioned many times how overrated the Royals farm system is. The fact that they have NO prospects ready right now proves that. Gio is down. He is hurt and he will be back, but after him there is not much. There is zero pitching on the farm. The Royals are who they are. I think they are a team that can win 81 games. I think they are better than most of the teams in the Central. The Tigers are very good. The rest of the teams are not that great. I see the Royals in second place. I see them in contention for the wild card. I know that is optimistic but it is opening day! The Rangers/Angels will take one spot. The Yankees and the Red Sox and the Rays may get the second one but the Royals will have their names on the standings list for the wild card until late in the season. Luke will step up and pitch well. Cain will be a great find. Hosmer is an absolute stud. Billy is a great hitter. I hope the pitching holds together. I think it will. Moose and the second baseman have to hit. They must be productive at the plate. No hitting below 200 for 2 months. Moose needs to hit 280 with 20 homers. That's not asking too much. Frenchy is a pain. He was great last year. He is a 240 hitter that swings and misses too much. If he can get back to where he was last year I'll shut up and say I'm sorry. I did apologize to Melky and Frechy last year. They were both way better than I anticipated. The opening week is a awful. The season, however, will not be awful. The Royals are going to be 500 and in contention. I truly believe that. Here we go Royals. Here comes summer! YES!